Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Napoleonic Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ireland Revolts during Armistice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Griffey
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can "Ireland Revolts" be played as an Event when the Armistice Event is in effect? If so, it creates the absurd situation of the British respecting an "Armistice" with rebels. On the other hand, rebels would not forbear to revolt just because of an armistice on a far-away battlefield. The language of the Cards does not clear it up, either:

The Armistice Event Card reads, "Forces may not enter enemy Duchies. This does not prevent ongoing sieges or sea battles from occurring, nor the flagging/unflagging of an already occupied space."

"Ireland Revolts" Card reads, "Place a French Unit and French Flag in Ulster, Connaught, and Cork unless occupied by an enemy Unit or leader . . . ."

EDIT: OK, I found the rule. It is buried in the last paragraph of Rule 8.33 DECLARATION of WAR:

"Events (such as Papal Bull and Minor Forces) which place Forces in another nation's Duchy do not cause war or violate an Armistice (see also 17.2)."


It would be simpler and make more sense if the rules had simply voided placement of Forces in enemy Duchies during Armistice, and voided Events which place forces in Neutrals, unless accompanied in the latter case by a Declaration of War. But the rules say what they say.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glyn Hooper
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Armistice does not prevent the play of events, any foreign war played would take affect. These are french supported Irish rebels...and for convenience sake use french counters. Minor forces, papal bull, and national uprising are also not affected by armistice
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Cawley
United States
Anthem
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Nothing absurd about the effects at all. Flagging card play by events is certainly allowed during armistice. Political events continue, military operations do not. That is all. (Historically Austria declared war during an armistice, it hardly freezes political events).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Griffey
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So the Irish can revolt, and the British can do nothing about it while the Armistice is in effect? Seems crazy, but clear enough.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.