Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
23 Posts

War of the Ring: Battles of the Third Age» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is Galadriel a Companion? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
magic gecko
Australia
Melbin Oz
flag msg tools
If I use Grond or Fighting Uruk-Hai on Lorien, can Galadriel play a card on the first round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Galadriel is not a companion. She's not a member of the Fellowship of the Ring.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
magic gecko
Australia
Melbin Oz
flag msg tools
Yes! Galadriel can play a card.

or

No! Galadriel may not play a card.



Are the only answers I was hoping for.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You asked if she's a Companion. I don't have the rules handy but I assumed from your question that the question turned on whether or not she is a Companion under the rules. She is not, Only the members of the Fellowship are Companions (with special figures showing that status.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Galadriel is considered to be "a Level 3 Companion for all Combat card effects". This extends to the ability to play a Combat card if the presence of a Companion is required in order to do so.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Krieghund wrote:
Galadriel is considered to be "a Level 3 Companion for all Combat card effects". This extends to the ability to play a Combat card if the presence of a Companion is required in order to do so.


Guess that settles it then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
We've already been through this a few years ago, IIRC.

Recall that Grond is NOT a combat card. It is an event card. She is not a companion regarding Grond.

Edit: (for MG)
No she can't play a card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
magic gecko
Australia
Melbin Oz
flag msg tools
Guess that settles it then. devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Your parsing of the card is just weird. It creates another layer of confusion that the game just doesn't need.

Grond initiates a combat/attack/battle that lasts for 3 rounds.

Therefore both players may play combat cards in each round.

The card requires a Companion to be present for the FP to play a combat card in the first round.

Galadrial counts as a Level 3 Companion for any combat cards played by either or both players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrWeasley is correct. I checked back through old posts, and Veldrin answered this question in the way he describes, so that's the way it is. However, like Gronak, I'm puzzled by the reasoning behind the answer.

While Grond is indeed an Event card, one of its effects is on the Combat card played in the first round. It seems to me that Galadriel's "Companionship" should satisfy the requirement, as it applies to the playing of a Combat card. I'll be house-ruling this one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
magic gecko
Australia
Melbin Oz
flag msg tools
I say NO.
But, since I raised the question obviously I am a little confused.



She cannot play a card because she is only a companion for the combat cards.

Grond and Fighting Uruk-Hai are Events.
Grond and Fighting Uruk-Hai are not Combat Cards.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miikka Sohlman
Finland
Lahti
flag msg tools
I live in the city of Gulf, on the shores of Lake Water. This fun fact has nothing to do with this badge you're pointing at.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So.. Galadriel is not a companion for "The Eagles are Coming!" event card then? I guess we played it wrong today.

"Play if a Free Peoples Army containing a Companion is adjacent to, or is in the same Region as, a Shadow Army containing Nazgûl."

That sucks.

Has Galadriel been promoted to a "full" companion in the CE? Or is she still a companion only for combat card purposes? I find it unnecessary confusing that she's only a part time companion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It has not changed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow,Wow, Wow, why make this unnecesseraly complex ???

This kind of considerations make the game understanding difficult.

What are the cards at stake ?
They are only 3 in fact
- Grond
- Fighting Uruk
- Eagle are coming
Why would Galadriel influence less the Eagles or the combat against Grond than let's say Pippin ?

"Galadriel is a companion for any related combat card or events" would be a much simpler way of saying things.
As she cannot move, she is level 3 for combat cards only and that is the only reason to mention the level. For other purposes, she is still a companion but at level 0.

Or in other words, she is a companion that can never be part of the Fellowship and can never move out of Lorien.


IS THERE ANY REASON FROM THE DESIGNER TO NOT ALLOW GALADRIEL TO INFLUENCE "GROND", "URUK HAI", "THE EAGLES" LIKE ANY COMPANION ??
In terms of RP, I say NO ! In terms of rules, I say NO also !


In addition there is A CHANGE (or a clarification) IN THE CE RULES !
On page 71, Galadriel and Smeagol are mentionned clearly as COMPANIONS
On page 70, Galadriel and Smeagol both get "Companions cards"


So let's stop that discussion about her not being a companion !
She is a companion for all purposes, with her specific rules like any companion
...and in none of her specific rules is mentionned that she would not be counted as a companion for event cards other than combat cards !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
magic gecko wrote:
If I use Grond or Fighting Uruk-Hai on Lorien, can Galadriel play a card on the first round?


As a conclusion, YES, Galadriel can play a card in first round !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Lugbar wrote:

In addition there is A CHANGE (or a clarification) IN THE CE RULES !
On page 71, Galadriel and Smeagol are mentionned clearly as COMPANIONS
On page 70, Galadriel and Smeagol both get "Companions cards"



Please quote it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
13thGuardsRifleDiv wrote:


It says on her character card: "Galadriel is a level 3 companion for combat card effects".

Why would her character card (which is what it should have said in the rulebook) mention this specific limitation if it was not intended?


It is mentionned because she is a level 0 companion by default !

So it is necessary to mention that for combat cards she is level 3
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrWeasely wrote:
Lugbar wrote:

In addition there is A CHANGE (or a clarification) IN THE CE RULES !
On page 71, Galadriel and Smeagol are mentionned clearly as COMPANIONS
On page 70, Galadriel and Smeagol both get "Companions cards"



Please quote it.


[ImageID=http://img375.imageshack.us/img375/8905/galadriel.jpg]

[ImageID=http://www.boardgamegeek.com/image/686732/war-of-the-ring-co...]

I do not understand what is the problem left about her companion status.
The combat card effects are only mentionned due to the fact that she is level 3 against those effects and not level 0.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In addition in page 12 of the CE rules, it is stated the following:

"Character belonging to the Free People are called Companions"

So there is no difference between a FP character and a Companion, it is the same thing !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Okay, that is new.
Veldrin, are you buying this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrWeasely wrote:
Okay, that is new.
Veldrin, are you buying this?


Maybe, I have emailed Roberto and Francesco about it, but have not recieved any reply yet.

I am actually leaning towards giving them full Companion status but lets play it as before (i.e. they are not Companions) until we hear otherways.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grognards are hard to get convinced arrrh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Breaking News!

Roberto answered that Sméagol and Galadriel are Companions for all game purposes.

I assume this was intended since they put them under the Companions headline in the CE verion of the rules.
6 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.