Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

StarCraft: The Board Game – Brood War Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Keyword rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
clarence
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
“Cloaking”
A unit with this listed on its Faction Sheet is always
considered to have the cloaking ability during battle.

If i use a non-dark templar card using it minor value. Does the dark templar still have cloaking?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Since the "cloaking" is not part of the ability text on the card, it is always on, regardless of whether it uses Major or Minor values of a card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
clarence
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
same for “Sacrifice”?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EMELT
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the same for Sacrifice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
The same for "Detector"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes, the same for "Detector".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
The same for "Flying"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Pretty much...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sithrak - The god who hates you unconditionally
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrWeasely wrote:
The same for "Flying"?


No, not for "Flying", just for the other 3.

Except on tuesdays, of course.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't forget "Assist"
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ger Lam
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
Don't forget "Assist"


well, assist is special.
usually, assist units don't become FLU's...but if they are alone, they are.
Oh, the fun, a single high templar with a 5/1 combat card and psi storm killing 2 units trying to rush him...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mumu shanshi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MordredofFairy wrote:
Oh, the fun, a single high templar with a 5/1 combat card and psi storm killing 2 units trying to rush him...


Actually, I don't think Assist units have attack ability (ie. they can neither attack ground units nor air units) and therefore a lone HT can't ever kill anything even with sufficient strength from minor values.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sithrak - The god who hates you unconditionally
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MordredofFairy wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
Don't forget "Assist"


well, assist is special.
usually, assist units don't become FLU's...but if they are alone, they are.
Oh, the fun, a single high templar with a 5/1 combat card and psi storm killing 2 units trying to rush him...


*Pssst* Don't tell anyone, but I think that was the joke

By the way, the Mumu (Mumu? Heh...) is right, assist units are NEVER FLU's, not even if they're alone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raviv Nagel
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Flamin_Jesus wrote:
MordredofFairy wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
Don't forget "Assist"


well, assist is special.
usually, assist units don't become FLU's...but if they are alone, they are.
Oh, the fun, a single high templar with a 5/1 combat card and psi storm killing 2 units trying to rush him...


*Pssst* Don't tell anyone, but I think that was the joke

By the way, the Mumu (Mumu? Heh...) is right, assist units are NEVER FLU's, not even if they're alone.


If an area with only assist unit is attacked one of them must be chosen to be the FLU (page 39 in the rules)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Flamin_Jesus wrote:
MordredofFairy wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
Don't forget "Assist"


well, assist is special.
usually, assist units don't become FLU's...but if they are alone, they are.
Oh, the fun, a single high templar with a 5/1 combat card and psi storm killing 2 units trying to rush him...


*Pssst* Don't tell anyone, but I think that was the joke

By the way, the Mumu (Mumu? Heh...) is right, assist units are NEVER FLU's, not even if they're alone.

As naviv points out, they CAN be FLU's if there are no other units. They likely won't be able to kill anything (because they have no air or ground attack capabilities), but they COULD end up surviving with the right combat card. And there are some reinforcement cards that could end up helping them kill an opposing piece, too. I think Psi Storm or Spawn Broodling would do the trick (though I'd have to look at the cards to be sure).


Oh, and yes, my Assist comment above was a joke. Of course their Assist keyword isn't dependant upon them having their icon in the card, since I don't think there are any non-reinforcement combat cards that DO have assist unit icons on them
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mumu shanshi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
I think Psi Storm or Spawn Broodling would do the trick (though I'd have to look at the cards to be sure).


Spawn Broodling, yes. Dark Swarm, yes.
Psi Storm, no. Psi Storm is +2 to attack (useless) and splash (nothing killed, so no splash).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
NtN Scissors
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mumushanshi wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
I think Psi Storm or Spawn Broodling would do the trick (though I'd have to look at the cards to be sure).


Spawn Broodling, yes. Dark Swarm, yes.
Psi Storm, no. Psi Storm is +2 to attack (useless) and splash (nothing killed, so no splash).

How do you kill with Dark Swarm???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mumu shanshi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoops! I meant Plague, of course.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ger Lam
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmb
NtNScissors wrote:
mumushanshi wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
I think Psi Storm or Spawn Broodling would do the trick (though I'd have to look at the cards to be sure).


Spawn Broodling, yes. Dark Swarm, yes.
Psi Storm, no. Psi Storm is +2 to attack (useless) and splash (nothing killed, so no splash).

How do you kill with Dark Swarm???


cast it in front of a mountain when some ground attack fighters approach at high speed, but don't have visual yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Sjöstedt
Sweden
flag msg tools
Defilers can both burrow and cast plague, they are a very neat one-man-killing-team that does not necessarily instadie.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.