Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Talisman (Revised 4th Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: MONK rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Howie Dawson
United States
Grosse Pointe Woods
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Your inner belief allows you to add your Craft value to your Strength during battle."
We had a player last night argue that because of the wording it did not allow the Monk to add his Strength to his Craft.
Is this correct? Is it only Craft added to Strength?
I would think it would be both.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Miller
Canada
Medicine Hat
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd agree with that player's assessment. After all, it doesn't say "You may add your craft and strength values together for both craft and strength challenges"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Lott
United States
Mason
Michigan
flag msg tools
Being a Lions fan is a gift...
badge
...and a curse.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You rang?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He can fight with cunning and intelligence,but he can't think with his biceps... makes sense to me!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Tubb
United States
Fuquay Varina
NC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
no, the monk can only add his CRAFT VALUE (3) to his strength, and only in combat. also note that "value" means "starting amount," so it is always 3.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McDermott
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mb
Aarontu wrote:
no, the monk can only add his CRAFT VALUE (3) to his strength, and only in combat. also note that "value" means "starting amount," so it is always 3.


The card does not state this, it says you may add your craft value to your strength in battle. It was corrected to say starting value in a published FAQ I believe.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Tubb
United States
Fuquay Varina
NC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chickenlips wrote:
Aarontu wrote:
no, the monk can only add his CRAFT VALUE (3) to his strength, and only in combat. also note that "value" means "starting amount," so it is always 3.


The card does not state this, it says you may add your craft value to your strength in battle. It was corrected to say starting value in a published FAQ I believe.


It's actually in the rulebook under the sections on strength, craft, and lives (pages 4-6). The rules clearly say that your craft "value" is the number printed on your card (which is your starting amount). The FAQ was made for the older BI edition; the newer FFG edition hasn't had an FAQ yet (though this rule was put in that FAQ).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Da Kid
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
what about the WARRIOR?

Can someone please give me some more insight on its special ability?
My very stupid friend thinks that he can roll 2 dice in psychic combat too
Is there an official rule somewhere that will clarify this once & for all?
He really believes that he CAN roll 2 dice for ALL COMBAT ROLLS
Anyone that helps me prove this moron wrong gets MAJOR props...LOL
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thenonamegamer wrote:
what about the WARRIOR?

Can someone please give me some more insight on its special ability?
My very stupid friend thinks that he can roll 2 dice in psychic combat too
Is there an official rule somewhere that will clarify this once & for all?
He really believes that he CAN roll 2 dice for ALL COMBAT ROLLS
Anyone that helps me prove this moron wrong gets MAJOR props...LOL


Are we talking about the FFG version (doesn't really matter in this case, but there are differences)? Warrior cards uses the keyword "battle" for his 2 die rolling. Checking the rulebook, battle happens when a strength "battle" takes place. Psychic combat happens when Craft is involved.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Da Kid
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
You may roll 2 dice in combat & use the higher one for your combat score
Thats what the Warrior card says in the regular 4th edition
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thenonamegamer wrote:
You may roll 2 dice in combat & use the higher one for your combat score
Thats what the Warrior card says in the regular 4th edition


Okay, so we're talking BI 4th edition here. Both it and the FFG 4th ed can be said to be the "regular".

Anyway, rules themselves separate Combat (section 16) and Psychic Combat (section 17). Warrior's ability only applies in Strength combat. Just slap your friend on the back of the head and tell him to shut up !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Da Kid
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Dam the Man wrote:
thenonamegamer wrote:
You may roll 2 dice in combat & use the higher one for your combat score
Thats what the Warrior card says in the regular 4th edition


Okay, so we're talking BI 4th edition here. Both it and the FFG 4th ed can be said to be the "regular".

Anyway, rules themselves separate Combat (section 16) and Psychic Combat (section 17). Warrior's ability only applies in Strength combat. Just slap your friend on the back of the head and tell him to shut up !


Believe me, We do it all the time...He is just so bad sometimes
I haven't checked the other forums but I will soon.(I'm new here)
But he was playing the Troll & picked up the Wand item
To me YES the wand always has a spell in it, but can its owner cast it NO
So you see, if the troll has craft 1, I don't think he should be allowed
to use wand at all, but there my stupid friend goes casting spells like crazy with it
Anyone have any insight on this as well?

Thanks in advance, You've all been great
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thenonamegamer wrote:
But he was playing the Troll & picked up the Wand item
To me YES the wand always has a spell in it, but can its owner cast it NO
So you see, if the troll has craft 1, I don't think he should be allowed
to use wand at all, but there my stupid friend goes casting spells like crazy with it
Anyone have any insight on this as well?



The BI FAQ has this:

"3.13 - Troll
Q: Can the Troll take possession of the Wand if he does not have enough Craft?
A: No, the Troll cannot possess the Wand until his Craft has reached 3 or more."

I didn't personally play with that rule. I played it that Troll can carry the Wand, maybe for Alchemist, but not use it until he has Craft 3. Applying the full rule would also prevent the Monk from having Sword, Shield, Armour or Helmet because he can't use them, even though they could be turned to Gold.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.