Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Unhappy King Charles!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Committe of Both Kingdoms Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Hojnacki
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

here is card text....

COMMITTEE OF Either Activate Waller and Essex as Minor Campaign OR
BOTH KINGDOMS Activate Essex and subordinate Waller for this turn.

..Does this card, using the phrase "as minor campaign"..allow them to trump Royalist's ability to go 1st in a turn? Since every minor campaign does allow this...but it does actually say that on the card this doesnt...we just wanna make sure we're playing this card right.

B.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Either Activate Waller and Essex as Minor Campaign

It says Minor Campaign, so yes it would allow preemption to go first (as per 5.5 GOING FIRST)

Quote:
OR Can activate Essex and must subordinate Waller for this turn

This option is the only time that Waller can subordinate to Essex. (see 9.5) and this option is not a minor campaign.


IGNORE this, and see the next post, an official response from the designer.




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Vasey
Scotland
Mortlake, London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bessieres wrote:

here is card text....

COMMITTEE OF BOTH KINGDOMS

Either Activate Waller and Essex as Minor Campaign OR
Activate Essex and subordinate Waller for this turn.

..Does this card, using the phrase "as minor campaign"..allow them to trump Royalist's ability to go 1st in a turn? Since every minor campaign does allow this...but it does actually say that on the card this doesnt...we just wanna make sure we're playing this card right.

B.


The Going First section says:

"Exception: Where the player selected to go second does not wish to do so, they can insist on going first if they have a “Major Campaign” or “Minor Campaign” card, which must then be their first card play." Please note the inverted commas.

The "Committee of Both Kingdoms" is not a a “Major Campaign” or “Minor Campaign” card because it is isn't so entitled. Only cards with exactly those titles may effect the choice. The "Committee" card has a limited effect like a minor campaign in one of its choices. What is important here is the exact title.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Vasey
Scotland
Mortlake, London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oi_you_nutter wrote:
Quote:
Either Activate Waller and Essex as Minor Campaign

It says Minor Campaign, so yes it would allow preemption to go first (as per 5.5 GOING FIRST)

Quote:
OR Can activate Essex and must subordinate Waller for this turn

This option is the only time that Waller can subordinate to Essex. (see 9.5) and this option is not a minor campaign.






No, please see above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Charles Vasey wrote:
oi_you_nutter wrote:
Quote:
Either Activate Waller and Essex as Minor Campaign

It says Minor Campaign, so yes it would allow preemption to go first (as per 5.5 GOING FIRST)

Quote:
OR Can activate Essex and must subordinate Waller for this turn

This option is the only time that Waller can subordinate to Essex. (see 9.5) and this option is not a minor campaign.



No, please see above.


Well I have been doing that wrong then.blush

Frankly, the wording on the card should either not mention minor campaign or specifically mention that it does not count as a minor campaign card. devil

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.