17 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Heroscape, I dont know were to start ?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Nielsen
Denmark
flag msg tools
I realy want to start playing heroscape, it looks like one of those boardgames you realy have to own, the only problem is that i realy dont know were to start ?? All those expansions and editions makes me confuse. Im kinda new to boardgames so thats probably why. Can someone plz help me. What do i need to start playing heroscape? like the basic... btw. forgive my bad english.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul

Wisconsin
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just buy one of the base sets. Everything you need is right there to get a sense of the game. All the expansions and such add some coolness and variety of the game, but are not needed to get started. Once you play a few times (and it is VERY easy to play), you will then realize the kinds of things you want to add to the game.

There are three base sets.

If you like superheroes, buy the Marvel set. The caveat is that there is a lot less terrain and fewer characters.

Otherwise, get Swarm of the Marro or Rise of the Valykrie.

I think the Valykrie set is a lot better, but it is older so sometimes harder to find.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick McInally
Canada
Simcoe (Norfolk)
Ontario
flag msg tools
When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning
badge
Rust monsters: separating the wheat from the chaff since 1976.
mbmbmbmbmb
For starter sets, Valkyrie has more variety and more terrain, while Marro has a more cohesive theme (Zombie-ish guys vs "heroes").

I greatly prefer Valkyrie, but own a couple Marro sets as well. I'm a terrain whore, what can I say?