Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Age of Steam Expansion #3: Scandinavia and Korea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bankrupt Ferry Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob White
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the ferry of a bankrupted player be rebuilt by another player? Or is it treated like track of a bankrupt player (nobody else can own it)?

Thanks in advance,
Rob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Rob in Richmond wrote:
Can the ferry of a bankrupted player be rebuilt by another player? Or is it treated like track of a bankrupt player (nobody else can own it)?


Ferry is an action, not something that is built. There's nothing to prevent a later player selecting and doing that action. The bankrupt player's track is treated as any other player's track.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the question is about the sea routes that player can build. Those are owned by a player just as track is owned by a player. Unlike track however, when the player tokens are removed it's not obviously apparent whether the sea route had been built or not. Thematically, it makes sense that track remain in place, which your loco can run over, but that a bankrupt sea route must be replaced (i.e., spend another $6) in order to use the sea route. We played it like the track. It was built but not owned - this made it next to impossible to use though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Ahh, sea routes are just pre-built track. If that player goes bankrupt the route is still built, just unmarked.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how we played, we were just looking for confirmation from someone. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Costas
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Expansion #3 rules under SEA ROUTES state:
Quote:
This counts as placing one track tile. The player constructing the route places one of his discs on the route. It also counts as one hex tile for VP purposes and one link for movement purposes.

This suggests that the 'sea route' is a completed link.

The Age of Steam rules under PAY EXPENSES, explaining what happens when a player is bankrupt, state:
Quote:
Remove all their Track Ownership markers on any Uncompleted Railroad Links. They are not paid when a player moves Goods over their Completed Railroad Links. Remove all their disks from the displays.


This means that a bankrupt players' completed links stay on the board as such and are essentially free to use to move goods.

Even though no rules explicitly describe your scenario, the principle is there:
You remove the bankrupt players' markers, and the sea route is still a completed link belonging to no one after the player that built it has bankrupt.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I appreciate your response; we did understand the rules, which is why we managed to play it correctly.

However, mechanically, there is nothing to REMIND you that someone already built the sea route. Later on in the game, you have to mentally recall whether it was previously built or not. I can imagine in the heat of battle someone getting confused and trying to build it and, only after another player points out it was previously built, getting screwed. This is why we questioned the appropriate way to handle them, whether you mark it somehow, or if it is treated differently.

This is not a problem with track links as track is already laid down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
There's no actual need to remove the track markers for a bankrupt player. Removing them serves no game purpose.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They can actually be helpful in counting links when there are town disks in use.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
out4blood wrote:
They can actually be helpful in counting links when there are town disks in use.


Which is really the point. The player makers are merely aids to plays; items that make bookkeeping easier. They make it easier to count deliveries (just count the discs along the way), they make it easier to score a player's track (remove the disc from each link as it is scored, etc. They are assistants.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.