Recommend
14 
 Thumb up
 Hide
23 Posts

Age of Conan: The Strategy Board Game» Forums » General

Subject: FAQ and Errata rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roberto Di Meglio
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A first version of the official FAQ and Errata was posted on the Nexus website (and should soon be also on the FFG website):
http://www.nexusgames.com/read.asp?id=3393
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jennifer Schlickbernd
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The errata is interesting to say the least Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Rose
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the updates.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, thank you Roberto.

I did note one small point that may cause further confusion. The clarification of Moving and Using Armies in the FAQ makes it sound as if the 5-unit stacking limit applies in all provinces, but I believe you've ruled elsewhere that it does not apply in your home Kingdom.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Philippe Goyer
Canada
Verdun Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Looking for a Publisher for a Grand Strategic all fronts WW2 card game
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the update and thanks for your fine game.

Owll
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Patterson
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
owll wrote:
Thanks for the update and thanks for your fine game.

Owll


Ditto. I especially appreciate the promptness.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Moffatt
Australia
Ipswich
Queensland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for putting these files up so quickly. Unfortunately I can't download them for some reason. Firefox says the source file cannot be read...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Rose
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scrat wrote:
Thanks for putting these files up so quickly. Unfortunately I can't download them for some reason. Firefox says the source file cannot be read...

Try again, I'm use firefox and had no problem getting them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Moffatt
Australia
Ipswich
Queensland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've tried for the last half hour or so using both IE and Firefox. Still no luck...

I am in Australia, I wonder if the Nexus site has geographical limitations?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Moffatt
Australia
Ipswich
Queensland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How big are the files? Could I trouble someone to email them to me? The files are still not accessible from the site.angry

Roberto, is there any chance of uploading the two files here to BGG?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Coker
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
This is my tank for Combat Commander
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If a player wishes to use a strategy card, he must play it before all contest dice are rolled for a contest.


Presumably the errata is trying to say "he must play it before any contest dice are rolled for a contest". As stated literally, a play would be allowed anytime prior to the last die being rolled.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Olvenskol wrote:
Presumably the errata is trying to say "he must play it before any contest dice are rolled for a contest". As stated literally, a play would be allowed anytime prior to the last die being rolled.


No need to presume - Roberto spelled it out in detail here:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/3217949#3217949
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Richbourg
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
This is Kyoshi, our adopted Shiba Inu.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After reading the Errata, I'm unclear if perhaps Raider tokens affect Battles. I know they affect Campaigns, and it seems they don't affect Sieges (for some reason), but Battles are unclear, since it is in a neutral province, but the placement of the rule on page 15 seems to imply they don't.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chargetheguns wrote:
After reading the Errata, I'm unclear if perhaps Raider tokens affect Battles. I know they affect Campaigns, and it seems they don't affect Sieges (for some reason), but Battles are unclear, since it is in a neutral province, but the placement of the rule on page 15 seems to imply they don't.


I tried, but apparently failed, to head off the confusion in this thread:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/390210

Regardless, Francesco's comment makes it clear that Raiders only help neutrals, and consequently don't participate in Battles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Richbourg
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
This is Kyoshi, our adopted Shiba Inu.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In addition to what George wrote in that thread, I'd strongly suggest that this should be (also?) mentioned in the Intrigue Contests section of the rule book.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maciej Teległow
Poland
Gdansk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for errata, now i am even more clear about the game and have no questions about rules at all
I have great time playing AoC, very thank You.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ehlers
United States
Mesa
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks for the faq/errata!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there an FAQ somewhere for the order that players build units during the age change? I was surprised not to find anything at all on this in the rules (maybe I missed it).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Rose
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
Is there an FAQ somewhere for the order that players build units during the age change?

I don't think an order is established. We just go around the table starting with the player who's turn is next.

However, we usually wind up going around the table a second time. After players see where units are placed they may decide to buy another unit or two. Also, when players are seen stocking up on cards, other players usually will buy a few more as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Schönaich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tsugo wrote:
DaviddesJ wrote:
Is there an FAQ somewhere for the order that players build units during the age change?

I don't think an order is established. We just go around the table starting with the player who's turn is next.


We just went around the table once, assuming that was the intent of the rules. The player going next can't react to his opponents' placements but I thought that was to balance the fact that he would get the first move after placement. How should this be handled?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Boone
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
Is there an FAQ somewhere for the order that players build units during the age change? I was surprised not to find anything at all on this in the rules (maybe I missed it).


You missed it. It is at the top of page 19 (English Rules) in the section covering the Age Change Phase. All players complete each step of the Age Change Phase before going to the next step with each player completing the step clockwise around the table starting with the First Player (one who now holds the First Player Token).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ramón Galán
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
mb
The first link doesn't work

Where can I find the errata and FAQ, guys?
Thank you very much.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/age-of-conan/a...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.