Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

One More Barrel» Forums » Rules

Subject: Many rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Russell Lee
United States
Cupertino
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We just played our first game of One More Barrels. With four players, it took a whopping four hours! (That included a good 20 minutes of rules explanations.) We came up with many questions. There may be more, but this is what we recall:


Government Oil Track (page 7)

Q: The board only goes up to “60” but the player memo card goes up to “xx.” How are you supposed to mark quantities higher than 60 on the board?

Pacifism Check (page 9)
“If a player does not have enough money to pay the penalty, he can sell oil from his hand (this is the only time oil can be sold out of turn) or he will be force to remove 1 troop from the board for each $ that he has to pay. It is possible that a player will be forced to remove all his troops from the board.”

Q: The rule says he “can” sell oil. Does this mean he can also choose not to? For example, a player has a penalty of $3. He has two barrels of oil and one troop. Can he choose to keep his oil, remove his single troop, and consider the penalty paid?

Q: If a player sells oil at this time (and not during his regular turn), does he count as a “player that sold oil” during the Oil Price step?

Oil and Transitional Government (page 10)
“If the player does not have any influence points or enough money to pay the penalty, then he has to pay the penalty as barrel of oil instead (no change back).”

Q: Is the penalty one barrel of oil per region? Or is oil sold at the current oil price until the player earns $4 per region?

Rebels (page 10)
“During the first turn of the Guerrilla phase, the players place their rebel dice with 1 in attack power in one of the east regions (marked in orange). The region cannot be under the control of a player. If that is the case, the rebels will start “off map” and they will have to use 1 movement in order to enter the eastern part of the country.”

Q: The only uncontrolled east region is Maysan. A player wants his rebels to attack Anmil. Does he have to start his rebels in Maysan, or can he choose to start his rebels “off map”?

“If the rebels have an attack power higher than 1 they will lose 1 point of attack power when they are moved.”

Q: If the rebels have an attack power of 1, can they still move and suffer no attack power penalty?

Rebels After Bombing (page 11)
“After the bombing the rebel die is removed. On the next turn, the player can put the die with an attack power of 1 in one of the eastern regions.”

Q: Does placing the rebel die on the next turn count as the action for that turn? Or can the player place the rebel die and declare a bombing in the same turn?

Q: Does the rebel die have to be put into an uncontrolled eastern region (similar to the beginning of the Guerrilla phase)? Or can it be put into a controlled eastern region?

Player Alliance in Bombing (page 11)
“Players can join forces as rebels to attack (and thus cause more damage). In this case, the rebel attack power values are added together.”

Q: Do the allied rebels all have to be in the same region? Or can they be in contiguous regions?

Q: If Player B allies his rebels with Player A’s bombing attack, does that count as Player B’s rebel action? Or does Player B still get another rebel action?

End of the Game (page 12)
“Each player withdraws the oil barrels from the regions under his control and the Government Oil is distributed.”

Q: Is a player still limited to withdrawing 2 total barrels (plus pipeline bonuses)? Or at this point, does he withdraw ALL oil barrels from the regions under his control?


Thanks!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Quondam
Italy
Roma
Roma
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Q: The board only goes up to “60” but the player memo card goes up to “xx.” How are you supposed to mark quantities higher than 60 on the board?

- Yes, of course

Pacifism Check (page 9)
Q: The rule says he “can” sell oil. Does this mean he can also choose not to? For example, a player has a penalty of $3. He has two barrels of oil and one troop. Can he choose to keep his oil, remove his single troop, and consider the penalty paid?

- He can choose.

Q: If a player sells oil at this time (and not during his regular turn), does he count as a “player that sold oil” during the Oil Price step?

- Yes!

Oil and Transitional Government (page 10)
Q: Is the penalty one barrel of oil per region? Or is oil sold at the current oil price until the player earns $4 per region?

- Until to pay the penalty in $

Q: The only uncontrolled east region is Maysan. A player wants his rebels to attack Anmil. Does he have to start his rebels in Maysan, or can he choose to start his rebels “off map”?

- With 1 uncontrolled orange region, rebels start in that region.


Q: If the rebels have an attack power of 1, can they still move and suffer no attack power penalty?

- Yes, they can still move and will not suffere attack power penalty.

Q: Does placing the rebel die on the next turn count as the action for that turn? Or can the player place the rebel die and declare a bombing in the same turn?

- Count as rebel action

Q: Does the rebel die have to be put into an uncontrolled eastern region (similar to the beginning of the Guerrilla phase)? Or can it be put into a controlled eastern region?

- As the beginning of Guerrilla phase: in an uncontrolled orange region.

Q: Do the allied rebels all have to be in the same region? Or can they be in contiguous regions?

- Also in contigous regions.

Q: If Player B allies his rebels with Player A’s bombing attack, does that count as Player B’s rebel action? Or does Player B still get another rebel action?

- Yes, of course, count as Player B rebel action.

Q: Is a player still limited to withdrawing 2 total barrels (plus pipeline bonuses)? Or at this point, does he withdraw ALL oil barrels from the regions under his control?

- ALL barrels


Very nice posted, I will use it for game FAQ!

Michele
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Lee
United States
Cupertino
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Michele,

Thanks for the prompt replies! I forgot to say, we enjoyed the game very much, and are anxious to play again!

Russell
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
micheleq wrote:
Q: The board only goes up to “60” but the player memo card goes up to “xx.” How are you supposed to mark quantities higher than 60 on the board?

- Yes, of course


This does not answer the question. I presume the "how" is done by using a second marker, keeping the first one on the "60". Also, my player cards go to "70", not "XX", but the rules make the doling clear enough, even though the arithmetic is translated sloppily.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.