Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Down in Flames: Aces High» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gaining and using Burst rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geoffrey LeClair
United States
Jackson
MS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

I have the following questions about gaining and using burst.

Plane A has 2 inherent burst and bcomes advantaged to plan B it gains 1 burst for a total of 3. Plane A then plays a card costing 2 burst to attempt to damage plane B. This leaves plane A with 1 burst.
Could plane A then be use this burst to play another card from this postion?

The only burst card plane A has left costs 3 burst. Plane A now maneuvers to a tailing postion gaining 2 burst since it had already gained 1 from the advantaged postion.
Could plane A then combined the 1 burst left from having been advantaged with the 2 just gained from becoiming the tailing plane and then play the 3 cost burst card on plane B?

Thanks
Geoff



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Coker
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
This is my tank for Combat Commander
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer to both questions is "yes".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Horinek
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
Dan Dare, 1950
badge
Stairway scare, Dan Dare, who's there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say a plane A has 1 inherent burst, and it will do this:
1. It maneuvers into tailing position towards plane B, gaining 3 extra bursts. That is 4 bursts in total for plane A.
2. Then the plane A fires 1 burst at the plane B.

Since the rules say the inherent bursts are exhausted first (then advataged bursts and then tailing bursts), plane A cannot give up the tailing position, pick plane C as another target, and fire at it from the neutral position, because it has no inherent bursts any more.

If the plane A would have fired 2 bursts at plane B instead, it would exhaust the one inherent burst and the +1 advantged bonus burst, and so that it couldn fire form an advantaged position (at any target) after that on the same turn.

Am i right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.