Craig Rose
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This was my fourth time playing WotR and my first time as the SP. I had read a little on the DEW line and thought I'd take that approach if the FP had trouble moving the Fellowship. This was also my opponents fourth game and his first time as the FP.

During the first turn, I focused on mustering Isengard and Sauron to war. The Fellowship moved twice, but was revealed on the second move. Gandalf was sacrificed for only 2 corruption and the FP did not have a Will of the West to bring in Gandalf the White, so I mustered Saruman and used his ability to increase units in Isengard. I probably should have mustered the Witch King this turn, but instead moved the S&Es down the political track.

In the second turn, the FP got his Will of the West. Gandalf the White was placed in Fangorn as the first action. I started moving armies so I could eventually build up forces in Orthanc and Morannon. I also mustered in the Witch King. With Gandalf in Fangorn, the Ents attacked Orthanc, but there were enough units there to protect Saruman. I was able to play The Shadow Lengthens to moved the army in South Dunland directly to Orthanc and the army in South Rhun to North Rhun in a single action. The FP started moving the elven army out of Grey Havens. With the Fellowship's last known position in Hollin, I played "Balrog of Moria to force the FP to take a longer path. The Fellowship moved but stayed hidden as the hunt was unsuccessful.

The third turn mainly saw armies moving around the board, as I was trying to get the Shadow King to Dale and the S&Es to Umbar. However, when Boromir left the Fellowship and headed to the Shire, I was fairly certain "Book of Mazarbul" was going to jump the dwarves to war. Strider also left the fellowship. Mazarbul was played with Boromir moving the Ered Luin and Strdier to Edoras. I also managed to get Flocks of Crebain on the table. The Fellowship moved, but was revealed. To my suprise, the FP decided to take the path through Moria. He lost Legolas from the hunt, but the Fellowship suffered 4 more corruption from traveling through the mines and from the Balrog.

On the fourth turn, the FP moved Boromir to join the elves that were now in Evendim and Strider to Minis Tirith. The Witch King was now poised to begin his assault on Dale, which quickly fell. After Strider bacame Aragorn, the Witch King moved onto Erebor. It took two rounds of combat, but the stronghold was taken. The Witchking was ready to move on, but did not have the dice to wage war. Fortunlately, the FP was suffering from useless dice and used not one, but two elven rings this turn. One of those rings though, was used to play "A Power To Great" which meant I had to burn an action die and two event cards so I could attack the Woodland realm. Using the rings, I was able to take over the stronghold. With units moving on Lorien and Helm's Deep and halfway to victory, my opponent was ready to call the game, and I was feeling pretty confident.

That's when things went in the proverbial crapper.

While taking the DEW line, I simply moved my army from province to province. Well that little dwarf sitting up in the Iron Hills waltzed into Erebor and took it back. My Army of S&Es in Vale of the Celduin was able to move into the Iron Hills and half of the Witch King's army had to trudge back to besiege Erebor. I wasted two dice to do this. Also, the FP had gotten his elves to war which proceeded to walk into an unprotected Angmar. Suddenly my 5:nil dropped to a 3:1. I used The Fighting Uruk-hai and beseiged Helms Deep. This proved very costly. In three rounds of fighting, I only managed to a single hit, leaving him with 3 regulars and 3 leaders, but dropping me two 3 elites and 1 regular.

Without the Corsairs, I had this huge army sitting in Umbar. So I began focusing on Lorien and Rivendell. To my suprise, both of those nations were abandoned. Unforunately, I had left Dol Guldur defenseless, so the elves began heading there. The elves who left Rivendell were heading to join the army that took Angmar for an assault on Mount Gungabad. Fortunately, I had Pits of Mordor which allowed me to place unit in Dol Guldur, Mt. Gungabad, and Minis Morgul. My armies were able to take the vacant elven strongholds, but this still left me at 7 victory points. Minis Tirith had been advancing and was also now at war. The army of elves moved into Mt Gram, while the Witch King was chasing down the ones who had left Lorien. The elves beseiged Gungabad, and my orc army retreated into the stronghold, but fell in a single combat. However, since I had made so many errors, I spent my actions fixing problems while the FP was free to position his army for a military victory.

With the Fellowship with zero on the track, 4 corruption and sitting in Dimril Dale, I knew I needed all my dice for actions. We drew our event cards. When I saw Corsairs of Umbar, I once again saw a chance to redeem myself. The FP moved the Gondor army from Minis Tirith to Osgilith. I played Corsairs, only to have the army retreat into the stronghold. The Gondor army moved into West Harondor. Like my other mistakes, I had left a single unit in Umbar. Fortunately, I successfully beseiged Dol Amroth. The FP attacked Umbar with the lone unit retreating into the stronghold. At 9:3, all I needed was to retake Erebor, but I had no army dice left. I only had character dice available, and the army at Erebor had no leader. I had to act now or surely the FP would take Umbar. Then I remembered, with Saruman, elites also act as leaders. I used the character die to beseige Helm's Deep. I scored a hit on my roll and a second one on my re-roll, but I had played Great Host, leaving me with 4 units to his 1, which meant a hit to the last unit, giving me Dol Amroth, and pushing me to 11 victory points. Even if he managed to take Umbar, we knew the victory would go to the SP, but we agreed to finish out the turn. The FP besieged Umbar, but the one unit proved to be a tough one. He withstood the assault and manged to take out one the Gondor units.

All-in-all, this game was a lot of fun. It went from a very one-sided match, to a race for victory points. The last couple of turns were equal parts excitement and frustration. Looking back, I'm appalled at all the bad decisions I made. It would have been down right embarrasing if I had lost, though I realized I would have no one to blame but myself if I had.

We will be playing the same factions in our next game, but trust me when I say I definitely learned from my mitakes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Young
United States
Antioch
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
As the FP player I learned alot as well.

It pays to not just sacrifice your units in sieges that will eventully doom them. They provided much consternation by threatening to either retake areas that were once mine or abandoned shadow locations.

Looking back at my own shadow experience I have found that there simply arent enough army dice when you need them so making him spend dice that dont advance his position was great for me. If I had a character die at the end of a turn id move the fellowship but otherwise I tried to get everyone involved defending Middle earth.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Allen
United States
Turlock
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Going to show a huge lack of geekiness here... for those of us who would like to read your session who don't know what the "DEW" is, maybe throw us a bone and break down the acronym for us.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Young
United States
Antioch
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
DEW

Dale
Errabor
Woodland Realm
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Milnes
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tsugo wrote:
Fortunlately, the FP was suffering from useless dice and used not one, but two elven rings this turn.


Unfortunately you can only use one elven ring per turn

regards

Ian
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Young
United States
Antioch
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Im not certain I used more than one in the same turn but i know for sure the SP did


If I did then I guess its only fair that he did too and thus was able to win.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Allen
United States
Turlock
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
aammondd wrote:
DEW

Dale
Errabor
Woodland Realm


Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Rose
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aammondd wrote:
Im not certain I used more than one in the same turn but i know for sure the SP did


If I did then I guess its only fair that he did too and thus was able to win.

Yeah, we both played the two rings on the same turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Also, rulewise:
1. If you have character dice (multiple), you can use one to move all Nazgul (inc. the Witch King), and another to attack with army now containing Nazgul.

2. Only Isengard elites act as leaders while Saruman is in play. The report is not clear whether you were using the effect on Helm's Deep (where the elites were Isengard) or Dol Amoroth (where they probably weren't).

3. A Power Too Great does not protect the Woodland Realm.

4. Angmar is useless to the Free Peoples without the other Shadow city (Far Harad, I think).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Crowder
Canada
North Bay
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good report - and good catches azuredarkness! I wouldn't say it's "ruleswise" to point out Angmar is useless, but it's worth noting strategically. Having three points that includes Angmar as the FP is no better than having two points, most of the time. Nice if the Shadow doesn't observe that though, makes him feel more pressured.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Yeah, I thought that it wasn't a rules issue, but I was on a roll with the numbers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Young
United States
Antioch
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Cecrow wrote:
Good report - and good catches azuredarkness! I wouldn't say it's "ruleswise" to point out Angmar is useless, but it's worth noting strategically. Having three points that includes Angmar as the FP is no better than having two points, most of the time. Nice if the Shadow doesn't observe that though, makes him feel more pressured.


He only had one char die at that point so moving the Nazgul for that purpose wouldnt help.

Angmar was just on the way to the nearby Stronghold.

And the Power too great was to protect Lorien i think WR had fallen already.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Rose
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
azuredarkness wrote:
Also, rulewise:


2. Only Isengard elites act as leaders while Saruman is in play. The report is not clear whether you were using the effect on Helm's Deep (where the elites were Isengard) or Dol Amoroth (where they probably weren't).

3. A Power Too Great does not protect the Woodland Realm.

In the last combat with Helm's Deep, there were 3 elites and 1 regular all from Isengard. The army that attacked Dol Amroth was all S&Es.

A Power Too Great may have been played when my army from Dol Guldur was about to attack Lorien after I had already finished off DEW. Writing a session report from memory the day after, there's bound to be a few timing errors. What I do remember is that it bought him a bit of time to move his elves from Rivendell to join the other army advancing on Gungabad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.