Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Small World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Transitive conquests? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marco
Germany
Thuringia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The manual states (on page 4):

Quote:
Upon conquering a Region, the player must deploy the Race tokens he used to conquer this Region inside its borders on the map. These tokens must remain in this Region until the player reorganizes his troops at the end of this turn (see Troop redeployment, p. 5).


Does this mean it is not permissible to have race tokens moved to a conquered region conquer another (adjacent) region during the same turn?


Marco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
curio77 wrote:
The manual states (on page 4):

Quote:
Upon conquering a Region, the player must deploy the Race tokens he used to conquer this Region inside its borders on the map. These tokens must remain in this Region until the player reorganizes his troops at the end of this turn (see Troop redeployment, p. 5).


Does this mean it is not permissible to have race tokens moved to a conquered region conquer another (adjacent) region during the same turn?


Marco


Yes, that is exactly what it means. Otherwise there would be no limit on expansion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Warrender
United States
Rockaway
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, you use your "in hand" tokens to conquer territories. Those on the board are stuck there until the Redeployment phase.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco
Germany
Thuringia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you both -- for some reason, I had been assuming that conquests are done by moving race tokens from one or more regions to an adjacent region. However, as I have now realized, and as the manual states clearly on page 6, race tokens are indeed returned to the active player's hand on the start of his or her turn. My fault. blush

Marco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Staudt
Germany
Rutesheim
Baden-W├╝rttemberg
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If not for this mechanic, there would have to be something else to reduce the number of attacking tokens, as with e.g. 5 tokens in hand there would be no difference in conquering an empty land and conquering one with 3 enemies
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.