Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Go figure! a rules question! acrobatics vs. pit traps... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Reed
United States
Mount Holly
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ok, so if a player has the skill to ignore the effects of pits and i play a pit trap (space) does that player fall into a pit or not.

This was a heated discussion 2 nite
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Acrobat makes you immune to the effects of obstacles. It provides no direct protection against traps.

A Spiked Pit card inflicts 2 damage (if you fail the roll) and creates a pit in the space. If you have Acrobat, you don't have to pay extra movement to leave the space (normally costs an extra movement point to climb out of a pit), and you can move back into it at a later time without taking damage (pits normally inflict 1 wound on any figure that enters), but you still take the initial 2 damage when the trap card is played.

There are other skills, such as Cautious, Burglar, and Tiger Tattoo, that do provide protection (of various forms) against trap cards. But Acrobat doesn't.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Thomas
United States
Findlay
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We couldn't agree whether or not Acrobat lets you move through rubble. Based on the wording alone, it seems like it would. We also couldn't agree on whether a flying creature could land on rubble. Again, based on the wording, it seems like it could, but it also seems like doing so could really be detrimental to balance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both Fly and Acrobat allow movement through rubble. Neither permits you to end your movement on rubble, however. "flying figures cannot end their movement in a space containing another figure or an obstacle that blocks movement."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.