Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Map Adjacency rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kendall Griffiths
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
I've always been a little confused on how the large room map pieces adjoin with each other. For example, in Quest 8 (JitD) how do you treat the spaces next to each of the doors in the Start Area? There is a visible gap in the pieces, but the map doesn't show that gap. Is the Beastman in Area 2 next to the Copper chest or does he need to go through the door? And then what about Area 3? Do you have to move through the 2 center spaces to get to the Nagas?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Günter Immeyer
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Kendall,

you seem to have the same problems with the map tiles as I did...

(see here: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/368315)

The solution is: there are actually WALLS on the outer edges of that big 6 x 6-tile in the start area - so there is an impassable gap of two spaces next to each door, the beastman in area 2 is NOT considered to be adjacent to the copper chest (he does indeed need to go through that door!

The situation with Area 3 is different, though: here, the heroes could also legally move diagonally (sort of sneak past) to the right and left of those obstacles.

To sum this rather illogical concept of walls and movement up in three sentences:

1) Figures may always move diagonally through spaces, even in this situation from A to B (with "O" being obstacles):

O-B
A-O

2) Figures can also always move diagonally through the very edges of rooms (IGNORING all walls that may be on the tiles):

X-X-X
X-X-B
X-A

3) The walls on the edges of tiles may NOT be ignored, if there is a door in the middle of a tile (as in your example of quest 8): here, you should consider the complete edge of the (longer) tile to be completely impassable except for the door.

Hope that helps a bit!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're making this sound more confusing and arbitrary than it is. You can pass any obstruction if you only touch it at a corner; you can't pass if you have to go through the middle of a solid obstruction.

So this is passable, because you only touch the corner of the wall:

B
.-
A|


This is not, because there's a continuous wall running between you:

|B
|
A|
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.