Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: recruits with event cards - Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Schott
Germany
Franconia
flag msg tools
designer
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.
badge
Please fondle my bum.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some event Cards say "Recruit an army piece there and there", and some, but not all of them, say "Recruit only in a free territory":
1) Is there a difference between those cards?
And if so:
2) Can I use the first type to recruit in a besieged stronghold?
3) Can I use the first type to recruit in a conquered town/city/stronghold which contains no army pieces of the enemy?

4) Can I use both types if the nation is not at war? (I presume strongly yes, as we always played it that way)

Thanks for answers, as always.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francesco Nepitello
Italy
Venezia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pethulhu wrote:
Some event Cards say "Recruit an army piece there and there", and some, but not all of them, say "Recruit only in a free territory":
1) Is there a difference between those cards?


Yes!

pethulhu wrote:

And if so:
2) Can I use the first type to recruit in a besieged stronghold?


Yes.

pethulhu wrote:

3) Can I use the first type to recruit in a conquered town/city/stronghold which contains no army pieces of the enemy?


No.

pethulhu wrote:

4) Can I use both types if the nation is not at war? (I presume strongly yes, as we always played it that way)


Yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Schott
Germany
Franconia
flag msg tools
designer
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.
badge
Please fondle my bum.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That´s exactly what I thought. Now I am sure. Thanks a lot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralf Schemmann
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
www.der-ringkrieg.de
badge
www.der-ringkrieg.de
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it cannot.

You cannot ever recruit in regions controlled by your enemy. And if the region was conquered in the past, it was still controlled by the Shadow, unless it was freed my a Free People army in the meantime (a companion alone cannot free a region).

That's what the region control markers are for, so you don't forget what has been conquered.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Klempa
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Uthoroc wrote:
No, it cannot.

You cannot ever recruit in regions controlled by your enemy.


Is this right?
I thought such cards as Half Orcs and Goblin Men, Olog-Hai, and Cirdan's Ships allowed for recruitment regardless of region control.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralf Schemmann
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
www.der-ringkrieg.de
badge
www.der-ringkrieg.de
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dave Klempa wrote:
Is this right?
I thought such cards as Half Orcs and Goblin Men, Olog-Hai, and Cirdan's Ships allowed for recruitment regardless of region control.


Yes, actually they do. So there IS an exception: Cards that allow you to recruit into an existing army can be used even, if the enenmy controls the region (which can obviously only be the case in a siege).

*sighs* There are always exceptions... whistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.