Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Investigator's Choice? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Mc Cabe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
There are those who look at things the way they are and ask why . . . I dream of things that never were and ask why not
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pete sealed a gate in The Unnameble, unaware of the ghost watching his every move.

When he noticed it, he panicked and began screaming like a little girl, having virtually nothing with which to protect himself.

Jenny heard his cries and burst into the room. Combat occurs first.
Is Pete forced to fight because he was in the room, or can I choose who fights first?

When the monster moves onto two investigators, it's based on sneak.

In this case, does battle occur before movement?

Brian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Follow the phases.

If Pete goes first, then he resolves his Phase 2 movement first. However, it sounds like he just returned from the OW so he may ignore the ghost this round. Therefore, Jenny could move to the location and battle the ghost whiule Pete waits for Phase 3 to come around to close the gate.

But if Pete doesn't close the gate, when Phase 3 gets back around to Jenny, she will be sucked through it to the OW.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
apatheticexecutioner wrote:
Pete sealed a gate in The Unnameble, unaware of the ghost watching his every move.

When he noticed it, he panicked and began screaming like a little girl, having virtually nothing with which to protect himself.

Jenny heard his cries and burst into the room. Combat occurs first.
Is Pete forced to fight because he was in the room, or can I choose who fights first?

When the monster moves onto two investigators, it's based on sneak.

In this case, does battle occur before movement?

Brian


Having a really hard time grasping what's going on here. Pete seals a gate, that's phase 3, check. No dealing with monsters until the movement phase of the following turn, in which case it depends on turn order. If Jenny's turn is before Pete, she can move there first and take out the Ghost, leaving Pete free to move unhindered. If Pete is first, he's gotta deal with the Ghost, most likely trying to Sneak past it if he's got nothing to hurt it with.

Darn, ninja 'd by The Man ! BSG know you're seeing old flames ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Mc Cabe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
There are those who look at things the way they are and ask why . . . I dream of things that never were and ask why not
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Left out one turn sequence.

He sealed the gate. He does not have to deal with the ghost. Every other phase, including Mythos, was resolved.
New turn. Upkeep, movement.

Pete and the ghost are already there. They stay put. Jenny moves in during movement phase to help out.

Is fighting the ghost based on turn order or is it the investigators who choose who deals with it first?

Brain
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Anderson
United States
Moorhead
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you're talking about the movement phase AFTER he seals the gate, which you are, then it all depends on turn order. If Pete goes before Jenny, he has to fight or evade the ghost. If Jenny goes before Pete, she could move in and take care of the ghost before Pete's turn to move. It's no different than a normal turn at that point - the fact that he sealed a gate LAST turn makes no difference.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Mc Cabe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
There are those who look at things the way they are and ask why . . . I dream of things that never were and ask why not
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That clears it up. Thanks, John.

Brian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.