Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Kuehler
United States
Roanoke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm still learning this game, and I have questions about some things I've read here with regard to strategy.

Why is guarding Alexandretta so important? I know the Armenian Uprising can affect this space, but it can also affect many others. Why is this space so important?

My conclusion with regard to Romanian entry is that the Russians now have another avenue of approach against the CP. Aside from that, I see nothing other than handing the CP a couple of victory points for cities.

Taking that last one one step further, I see no reason for the AP to try much of anything in the Balkans. Anything west of Gallipoli looks like it can be handled pretty easily by the CP after Bulgaria comes into the war.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Hope
United States
Woodside
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Alexandretta is critical because it's the only Armenian Uprising space that is also a port where the British can send troops. So if Alexandretta isn't kept garrisoned and the AP can bring in the Armenian unit there, you will suddenly have British corps dropping into the middle of the Ottoman Empire.

I tend to agree with you about the Balkans, but I imagine more experienced players will weigh in with the opposite. You have to play Romania, but working your way back up from Greece seems a bit too Ops-intensive to be worthwhile in the game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
What Steven said- Alexandretta can end up acting as a free beach-head...
Of course, if you don't play Pan-Turkism it isn't an issue.