GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,607 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

StarCraft: The Board Game – Brood War Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sacrifice Units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fabrizio Senesi
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule is:
In order to clarify, the Sacrifice ability should read as follows:
A front-line unit with this ability (listed on its Faction Sheet)
is automatically destroyed during the Resolve Skirmishes
step of a battle regardless of whether or not the opponent
has sufficient strength to destroy it. This ability is ignored
if the unit with the sacrifice ability is unable to attack both
the opposing front line unit and supporting units (due to its
attack capability)

But when an unit whit sacrifice is destroyed for his ability, destroy the opponent front-line unit ?


If no, whit an ONLY Sourge you can attack an enemy that have 1 fly-unit and a ground-unit... (then ground unit will is a supporting unit)

Then Sourge can't Sacrifice (can't attack the ground unit) but whit his combat card 9/6 can kill the opponent fly-unit...and if luckly can survive

for ex.:
if I attack whit a Sourge (CC 9/6 & RC +1healt) a Wraith that use combat card 6/7 i kill Wraith but my Scourge dead too (for Sacrifice Ability)

If I attack whit a Sourge (CC 9/6 & RC +1healt) a Wraith that use CC 6/7 whit Support Unit Vulture I kill the Wraith but my Sourge don't dead because the sacrifice ability don't work (sourge can't attack Volture)...

I don't think that can be true...




If yes, whit a Sourge you can attack an opponet flying-unit and you can use a bad combat-card: the sacrifice ability destroy sourge and opponet flying unit...


Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EMELT
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The sacrifice ability applies to the scourge unit (or infested terran), not the enemy unit. That is to say the scourge (or infested terran) is the unit that dies regardless of the opponents strength.

The enemy flying unit is not the unit that is killed by the sacrifice ability of a scourge.

The enemy flying unit can only be killed by the regular comparison of: attack strength of the scourge VS the enemy front line unit's health rating.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Mark said, if your Scourge can attack anything at all, it will be destroyed. Only if it can't attack the enemy front-line unit and it can't attack any enemy supporting unit either, Sacrifice won't destroy the Scourge anyway.

Just imagine the Scourge flying into the enemy flyer and blowing itself up in an explosion with the strength on its combat card. The rules model that pretty adequately.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabrizio Senesi
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
haslo wrote:
As Mark said, if your Scourge can attack anything at all, it will be destroyed. Only if it can't attack the enemy front-line unit and it can't attack any enemy supporting unit either, Sacrifice won't destroy the Scourge anyway.

Just imagine the Scourge flying into the enemy flyer and blowing itself up in an explosion with the strength on its combat card. The rules model that pretty adequately.


Ok...but if a Vulture is a FLU and a Wraith a Supporting unit VS a Scourge, the scourge died (sacrifice) but don't del dmg to opponent Flayer-unit -.- In videogame the Scourge Sacrifice itself only for deal dmg !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
NtN Scissors
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My unit with Sacrifice, X, attacks opponent's Frontline-unit, F, with Support Units S1, S2.

What the rules are trying to say is:
IF
THEN {Ignore Sacrifice Ability}
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
NtN Scissors
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fifagi wrote:
haslo wrote:
As Mark said, if your Scourge can attack anything at all, it will be destroyed. Only if it can't attack the enemy front-line unit and it can't attack any enemy supporting unit either, Sacrifice won't destroy the Scourge anyway.

Just imagine the Scourge flying into the enemy flyer and blowing itself up in an explosion with the strength on its combat card. The rules model that pretty adequately.


Ok...but if a Vulture is a FLU and a Wraith a Supporting unit VS a Scourge, the scourge died (sacrifice) but don't del dmg to opponent Flayer-unit -.- In videogame the Scourge Sacrifice itself only for deal dmg !

It does, if the final attack value of the Scourge is higher than the health value of the Vulture.

If an Ultralisk attacks an oppo FLU Wraith with support Vulture, the Vulture dies if the ultralisk has sufficient strength. Same rule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabrizio Senesi
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
NtNScissors wrote:
fifagi wrote:
haslo wrote:
As Mark said, if your Scourge can attack anything at all, it will be destroyed. Only if it can't attack the enemy front-line unit and it can't attack any enemy supporting unit either, Sacrifice won't destroy the Scourge anyway.

Just imagine the Scourge flying into the enemy flyer and blowing itself up in an explosion with the strength on its combat card. The rules model that pretty adequately.


Ok...but if a Vulture is a FLU and a Wraith a Supporting unit VS a Scourge, the scourge died (sacrifice) but don't del dmg to opponent Flayer-unit -.- In videogame the Scourge Sacrifice itself only for deal dmg !

It does, if the final attack value of the Scourge is higher than the health value of the Vulture.

If an Ultralisk attacks an oppo FLU Wraith with support Vulture, the Vulture dies if the ultralisk has sufficient strength. Same rule.


yES..TRUE
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ger Lam
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmb
fifagi wrote:

If I attack whit a Sourge (CC 9/6 & RC +1healt) a Wraith that use CC 6/7 whit Support Unit Vulture I kill the Wraith but my Sourge don't dead because the sacrifice ability don't work (sourge can't attack Volture)...

I don't think that can be true...[/i]



and it is not. as was explained, as long as EITHER unit is a valid target, sacrifice triggers.

As for your example with the wraith, i think it's in the FAQ: If you do NOT have detector and the opponents unit has stealth, sacrifice also won't trigger.

Other than that: You need sufficient strenght to destroy them, no auto-destruction. And the "attacking either FLU or support or no sacrifice trigger" was added to prevent matchups like
"attacking one firebat with a BC as support with one scourge..." great, the BC is dead and the firebat can't attack the scourge, who survives.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.