Jonathan Orr
United States
Beaver Dams
New York
flag msg tools
badge
I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells. -Dr. Seuss
mbmbmbmbmb
I wanted to ask some of the people who played 3 player Comic Encounter games and larger what they think of the 3 player games. Does the game still have the same level of fun with 3 people as it does with 4 or more?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Mumford
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
ceci n'est pas une pipe
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played twice with three and twice with four, so I'm no expert. I think with Cosmic Encounter, the more the better. I'd love to try it with five.

On the other hand, a three player game is going to be less chaotic, and in a very chaotic game, that can be good - especially when players are just starting to learn the ins and outs of the system.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Reda
United States
Herndon
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Guess the games in my uberbadge!
badge
My favorite game is Cosmic Encounter.
mbmbmbmbmb
I really don't find CE to be anywhere near as enjoyable with only 3 players- but it can still be done. Some of us have been desperate enough to try playing it with only 2 players- but in my opinion CE really shines at 5 (and more). It's very social, and the alliance element is key to making the dynamics more entertaining.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Montgomery
United States
Modesto
California
flag msg tools
badge
The Shipyard - Star Trek Attack Wing spoilers and reviews
mbmbmbmbmb
In my experience (80 some games on this edition) the bright spot of the game is 4 or 5 players. 3 lacks the social interaction of allies, where after a while, the side the ally goes on will probably win.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just a Bill
United States
Norfolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
No, I said "oh, brother," not "go hover."
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm with Jack and David: the sweet spot is probably 5.