Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Through the Ages: A Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Great Wall strength bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pedro Lisboa
Portugal
Oeiras
flag msg tools
that's just, like
badge
your opinion, man
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This question popped up in our game last night and we couldn't agree on one interpretation:

Does the Great Wall strength bonus apply to every infantry and artillery unit you have OR to every infantry/artillery pair you have?

In other words, if I have 2 warriors and 2 cannons, do I get +4 strength (1 for each unit) or +2 strength (1 for each pair)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
+4 strength in that example. It is for every unit. If it meant pair, it would say so, in the way that Shakespeare does for library/theater pairs.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Lisboa
Portugal
Oeiras
flag msg tools
that's just, like
badge
your opinion, man
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also note that strength bonuses do not count for sacrifices. I got this wrong the first couple of times I played.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ekted wrote:
Also note that strength bonuses do not count for sacrifices. I got this wrong the first couple of times I played.

This is not quite right. Civilization strength bonuses do not count for sacrificing, but unit strength bonuses do. Genghis Khan is the only leader that provides a strength bonus to a unit, so his bonus DOES count when sacrificing, as noted on the last page of the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Lisboa
Portugal
Oeiras
flag msg tools
that's just, like
badge
your opinion, man
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So in that case, the Great Wall bonuses would count for sacrificing purposes, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pedrolisboa wrote:
So in that case, the Great Wall bonuses would count for sacrificing purposes, right?

No. The Great Wall adds to your civilization's basic strength, not to the unit's.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.