Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

A Most Dangerous Time: Japan in Chaos, 1570-1584» Forums » Rules

Subject: Q about Negotiation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Seth Gunar
United States
Ringwood
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The section in the rulebook about attempts to get soldiers to betray is a bit hazy.

The required role is 6 on a 1d6 roll, correct?

Also it gives a modifier for the presence of Daimyos of +2 and Samurai of +1.

I am assuming that this refers only to ENEMY Daimyos and Samurai.

C'est vrai?

Finally, just so I am sure I understand this, the only way one could get a soldier who is in a space with an enemy Daimyo (+2) to defect is if he is a neutral (-1)soldier under siege(-1)?

Just curious about that one as well - how is it possible to besiege a "neutral."
Seems kinda impossible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Tamburo
United States
Justice
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically the whole negotiation/betrayal system works like this:

1) Daimyos that start the game as such cannot betray.

2) Samurai and Daimyos created from Samurai betray by card play only.

3) Soldiers change sides (not betray) via die roll.

To get a soldier to change sides, you need to roll the target number or higher. The target number starts at 6 and is modified as follows:

Enemy or neutral Daimyo present in the space or waypoint: Add 2 to target number

Enemy or neutral Samurai in space or waypoint: Add 1 to target number

The target soldier is a neutral: Subtract 1 from target number

The target soldier is besieged: Subtract 1 from target number

These effects are cumulative with the exception that you receive the benefit for either a Daimyo or a Samurai in the space/waypoint - not both. So, for example, a neutral target soldier with a neutral Sanurai in a besieged space would have a target number of 5 (starts at 6, subtract 1 for neutral and 1 for besieged then add 1 for being with neutral or enemy Samurai).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edgar Gallego
Spain
Sarriguren
Navarra
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Joelist wrote:
Enemy or neutral Daimyo present in the space or waypoint: Add 2 to target number

Enemy or neutral Samurai in space or waypoint: Add 1 to target number

All of these effects are cumulative. So, for example, a neutral target soldier with a neutral Sanurai in a besieged space would have a target number of 5 (starts at 6, subtract 1 for neutral and 1 for besieged then add 1 for being with neutral or enemy Samurai).



Well, I think not all of them are cumulative. Don't know if it's an errata or it's intentional, but at least the japanese edition says those two are not cumulative:

Enemy or neutral Daimyo present in the space or waypoint: Add 2 to target number

Enemy or neutral Samurai in space or waypoint: Add 1 to target number


A target with a Samurai and a Daimyo adds only 2, not 3.

Anyways, good summary Joel.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starkweather
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
A target with a Samurai and a Daimyo adds only 2, not 3.

That is correct - you get either the Samurai mod or the Daimyo mod - not both.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Tamburo
United States
Justice
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it. I'll do an edit above to reflect.

By the way Adam, per Page 9 of the rules my original take was correct. All modifiers are cumulative.

So this would be errata?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.