Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Siege with 7 units when Swiss Mercs played? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Koehler
United States
Waxhaw
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Alva and five units established a siege the previous turn. Haps announces an assault and declares Alva and his five units as the attacking formation per 15.1.1. Under 15.1.2, the Haps want to play Swiss Mercs to add two mercs, bringing his total to 7, or 4 dice, plus 1 for Alva.

Is this kosher, since Alva has a command rating of 6?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Asher D.
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He could play it, but only one of the mercs can actually join in the assault, as Alva's formation can only consist of 6 units. Note that 15.1.2 specifically says "change the number of units in the space", not in the formation. They're added to the space, but only 6 can be in a formation under Alva, according to 5.1 Formations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to add further information, if you add the units you don't change the number of dice you get to roll during the assault (you roll 4 either way) but you can take either or both of the mercs as casualties if you take any hits (because you're allowed to lose any units in the space as casualties, even if they didn't participate in the assault).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.