Can gem cards be traded in for an equal value of a concentrated energy chip (with any excess received in magic dust) to reduce hand size? What about vice versa (I can't see why you would want to do it this way)? (I understand the rule about receiving a concentrated energy chip plus dust chit instead of 4 cards.) Thanks.
There are many times you would want to trade a concentrated energy chit for cards of the same value. This lets you spend only part of the amount (one or two of the cards) and leaves you with cards for your remaining energy, instead of spending the chip and getting change in dust chits.
Not legal though. You get what you get according to the rules and there is no decision made here. You always get change in dust chits, not in cards or concentrated energy chips. Always.