Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Russian Campaign» Forums » Rules

Subject: What is the so called "AV" Rule? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Meyers
United States
Frederick
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


What is the so called "AV" Rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Lowry
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...I can't think of what you'd be referring to. Can you give some context?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barton Campbell
United States
Jersey City
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Constantinople wrote:


What is the so called "AV" Rule?

Rule 16. Automatic Victory - Axis Only
If the Germans can get an 10 to 1 odds attack on a Soviet defender during a movement phase any units that have not yet been comitted to the attack or otherwise moved may move through the Soviet defenders as if they had been already eliminated.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IIRC there was some "controversy" at the time, due to the fact that units that AV in the first impulse can't move in the second, or something along those lines. Something about the rule was non-intuitive, and had some gamer's undies in a bunch.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Meyers
United States
Frederick
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


You guys are great!!!!!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles McLellan
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
The AV rule differs somewhat between editions.

In Avalon Hill's editions, if a German unit has, during the movement phase, a 10-1 attack (7-1 with a Stuka) against a Russian, the Russian unit surrenders and is removed from the game during the movement phase. Other Axis units not involved in the AV attack can then pass through the area vacated by the AV'd unit. The attacking German AV units can move no further and cannot attack other units during the combat phase. If the attacking units remain adjacent to other Russian units, the Germans must bring up other units to attack those adjacent units or the units that made the AV attack are themselves surrendered. If the AV attack is in the first impulse, the units making the AV attack can advance but cannot come adjacent to (or attack) enemy units in the second impulse.

In L2DG's 4th edition, Russian units can also make AV attacks beginning in 1943.

In Jedko's Series II edition, German units making AV attacks in the first impulse can move and attack normally in the second impulse.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.