Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Neuland» Forums » Rules

Subject: 3 Actions = 1 Food, can be used for buildings that require several inputs? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jbrier
United States
Aventura
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This question refers to the rule from the original version where you can, for 3 action points, produce and immediately consume a food anywhere on the board.

Suppose you are using the building that requires a sword and a food as inputs. If your sword is three or more spaces away, then it seems by the above rule that the food need not be worried about, since only the longest distance is paid for and the sword will count as that distance. Since it isn't uncommon for the sword to be 3 spaces away, the food requirement is often negligible when using those two buildings that require food and sword as inputs (one of them which also requires a stone).

Or is the rule that you can spend 3 action points to use a building that ONLY requires food as input?



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
You are confusing transport costs with production costs. The 3 actions required to invent food are not a transport cost, but a production cost. In the case you describe, producing the food and getting sword to the building will cost a total of 7 action points, 3 to produce the food, 3 for transport, one for the production on the new building.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jbrier
United States
Aventura
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
You are confusing transport costs with production costs. The 3 actions required to invent food are not a transport cost, but a production cost.


Yes! This makes sense. The 3 action points spent "foraging for food" are not a transportation cost, and thus are counted in addition to the transportation cost for the sword.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.