Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The War of the Empires 1914-1918» Forums » Rules

Subject: 8 rules questions by Kyle Koskinen rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sven Nemet
Croatia
Zagreb
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Do the shipyards printed on the map serve any purpose other than to produce ships?

2. Should there be a defensive bonus for a naval unit being in a shipyard area? (I think there should be a +3 bonus to naval units defending in a shipyard. Otherwise, large navies will hunt down small navies at the beginning of the game and eliminate them.)

3. Does the attacker get to choose which unit will be attacked each round? (The rules do not specify but the example says the attacker chooses.)

4. When artillery shoots from an adjacent area does it get to select which enemy unit will be eliminated or does the defender select?

5. The attacker is allowed to call off the fight and retreat. Is the defender also allowed to call off the fight and retreat?

6. When an attacker calls off a fight his units retreat 1 field. Is the attacking airplane limited to a 1 field retreat or can it move 2, 3, or 4 areas?

7. Fights are resolved in this order: Naval units, Artillery shooting, and Land units. When do airplanes fight? I think fights should be resolved in this order: Airplanes, Naval units, Artillery shooting, and Land units.

8. I'm not sure I understand the wording on this action card "TACTICAL ADVANTAGE: It gives you +1 to all the units you attack with, in a field of your choice (only in one turn during the attack). Card can be used in each round once!"

Is this example the correct way to use the TACTIAL ADVANTAGE card?
Attacker has 2 airplanes, 2 adjacent artillery, and 4 infantry units.
Defender has 2 airplanes, 1 artillery, and 2 infantry units.
Attacker plays the action card TACTICAL ADVANTAGE.
Resolve airplane fight 1st.
Airplane Combat Round 1: Attacker has +1 for TACTICAL ADVANTAGE and rolls a 4. Defender rolls a 3. Defender removes 1 airplane unit.
Airplane Combat Round 2: Attacker has +1 for outnumbering 2-to-1 (but cannot use TACTICAL ADVANTAGE again since it was already used in the 1st Airplane combat round) and rolls a 5. Defender rolls a 5 and removes his last airplane unit.
Artillery Shooting Round: Attacker has +1 for TACTICAL ADVANTAGE and rolls a 2 and 5. Defender removes 1 infantry unit.
Land Combat Round 1: Attacker has +1 for having an airplane unit in the area, +1 for TACTICAL ADVANTAGE, +1 for outnumbering 2-to-1, and rolls a 1. Defender has +3 for defending and rolls a 2. Attacker removes 1 infantry unit.
Land Combat Round 2: Attacker has +1 for having an airplane unit in the area, +1 for outnumbering 2-to-1, (cannot use TACTICAL ADVANTAGE again since it was already used in Land combat Round 1) and rolls a 4. Defender has +3 for defending and rolls a 6. Attacker removes 1 infantry unit.
Attacker calls off attack and retreats the infantry and airplane units.

Is this example correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sven Nemet
Croatia
Zagreb
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No
2. There is no +3 bonus to navy in area with shipyard.Ofcourse you can play that way but it will give plus to central powers.
3. YES the attacker choose.
4. Yes attacking player that shoots with artillery choose.
5. No defender can not retreat.
6. Planes retreat the same so NO 2, 3, or 4 areas move.
7. Huh my mistake. Yes airplane fights are the first to resolve.
8. not correct.. Well second plane can have tactical advantage as the first one did.
Also in second phase (land combat roun2 -as you write) land units have +1 from tactical advantage. Tactical advantage is there for each unit that attacks in that field and as long the attack continue.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Koskinen
United States
Saline
Michigan
flag msg tools
Question #9 from Kyle
9. The rules state that Event cards are drawn before a country receives it's money at the beginning of a turn.

Supppose it's the beginning of turn 3, Britain has 56 paper bills available, and this Event card is drawn "COLONIES: BRITAIN has to pay 66 paper bills to the colonies now, otherwise you lose 8 of your money income every turn until the end of the game."

Because Britain does not have 66 paper bills available it cannot pay the colonies and it will receive -8 income every turn for the remainder of the game. So, it's turn 3 income will be 20 (+24 Britain, +1 Scotland, +1 Ireland, +1 Malta, +1 Cyprus, and -8 colonies).

Is this correct or are the Event Cards and Country Income supposed to happen at the same time?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sven Nemet
Croatia
Zagreb
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
9. Yes that is correct.
first - Each side takes one event card (except the first turn)
second - Players receive their money

It is to make player think will he/she spent all the money in one round or to save something for bad event in next or to pay for some country to fight on his side (good event)...


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
zebracat wrote:
9. Yes that is correct.
first - Each side takes one event card (except the first turn)
second - Players receive their money

It is to make player think will he/she spent all the money in one round or to save something for bad event in next or to pay for some country to fight on his side (good event)...
It would appear to myself that you need to have SAVED $10 per TURN until that 'card' were played, so think of that as the "Strategic RESERVE" for *Special* occasions in the time being. Once it were DRAWN, then unless there were more of this, you will have met your 'obligations' and GAIN that additional monies at some later times and can FREELY disburse it for additional 'items'.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.