Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Protection Rule rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a creature that has protection from everything, not sure what the name of the card is, its a 10/10 leviathan. can things that don't directly target it affect it? Like wrath of god which destroys all creatures, but doesn't specifically target the creature.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin
msg tools
badge
I'm a little fuzzy on MtG rules, but I believe that's correct. It can be affected by non-targeted effects as long as they aren't "damage."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Crockett
United States
Bridgewater
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If it makes it easier, the pnemonic is DEBT

Protection prevents Damage, Enchantment, Blocking, and Targeting.

So, Wrath of God would destroy (for example) Black Knight, but Pyroclasm would not destroy Silver Knight (protect. Red)
Protection from Everything (good grief, have they gone that far since I played?) would be undamageable, untargetable, unblockable, cannot be enchanted. But is affected by global effects such as enchantments, meekstones, etc.

Hope that didn't make these more confusing

Mack
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
so like cumberstone or w/e it is that causes all opponents creatures get -1/-0, would affect that protect from everything creature?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc-Andre Blanchet
Canada
Sherbrooke
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Comberstone's effect affects Progenitus. (Prot. from everything)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc-Andre Blanchet
Canada
Sherbrooke
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
502.7. Protection

502.7b A permanent or player with protection can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can't be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.

502.7c A permanent or player with protection can't be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality.

502.7d A permanent with protection can't be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality or fortified by Fortifications that have the stated quality.

502.7e Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player that has protection is prevented.

502.7f Attacking creatures with protection can't be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality.

502.7i "Protection from everything" is a variant of the protection ability. A permanent with protection from everything has protection from each object regardless of that object's characteristic values. Such a permanent can't be targeted by spells or abilities, enchanted by Auras, equipped by Equipment, fortified by Fortifications, or blocked by creatures, and all damage that would be dealt to it is prevented.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RanDomino Nickelmaster
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Wrath of God destroys Progenitus. The only thing that saves a creature from WoG is Indestructable.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurence Parsons
United Kingdom
Charfield
flag msg tools
Old enough to know what's right
badge
Young enough not to choose it
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RanDomino wrote:
Yes, Wrath of God destroys Progenitus. The only thing that saves a creature from WoG is Indestructable.

... and counterspell
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Koopmans
Canada
St Albert
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
freduk wrote:
RanDomino wrote:
Yes, Wrath of God destroys Progenitus. The only thing that saves a creature from WoG is Indestructable.

... and counterspell


or regeneration, via something like Broken Fall.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Istvan Trucza
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
Vertayk wrote:
If it makes it easier, the pnemonic is DEBT

Protection prevents Damage, Enchantment, Blocking, and Targeting.

So, Wrath of God would destroy (for example) Black Knight, but Pyroclasm would not destroy Silver Knight (protect. Red)
Protection from Everything (good grief, have they gone that far since I played?) would be undamageable, untargetable, unblockable, cannot be enchanted. But is affected by global effects such as enchantments, meekstones, etc.

Hope that didn't make these more confusing

Mack


"unblockable" is not right. Colorless creatures (e.g. artifacts) can block and can deal damage to any creature with protection from all colors.

However colored creatres can't block Progenitus
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Istvan Trucza
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
Jeshko wrote:
freduk wrote:
RanDomino wrote:
Yes, Wrath of God destroys Progenitus. The only thing that saves a creature from WoG is Indestructable.

... and counterspell


or regeneration, via something like Broken Fall.


Regeneration doesn't work against Wrath of God.

10th edition card text says:

"Destroy all creatures.
They can't be regenerated."

The controller or owner of Progenitus can't target his own creature due to the protection from all colors thing - so Broken Fall doesn't work at all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everett Scheer
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sanyi150 wrote:
Vertayk wrote:
If it makes it easier, the pnemonic is DEBT

Protection prevents Damage, Enchantment, Blocking, and Targeting.

So, Wrath of God would destroy (for example) Black Knight, but Pyroclasm would not destroy Silver Knight (protect. Red)
Protection from Everything (good grief, have they gone that far since I played?) would be undamageable, untargetable, unblockable, cannot be enchanted. But is affected by global effects such as enchantments, meekstones, etc.

Hope that didn't make these more confusing

Mack


"unblockable" is not right. Colorless creatures (e.g. artifacts) can block and can deal damage to any creature with protection from all colors.

However colored creatres can't block Progenitus


Except prot from everything includes prot from artifacts. Prot from everything would make the creature essentially unblockable (aside from not having that keyword)

Edit: Prot from everything also includes Prot from creatures.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
t j
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, if some thing has protection from all colors, it can only be blocked by artifacts
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kerry Harrison
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch
badge
Meep. Meep. Meep.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
terivia wrote:
No, if some thing has protection from all colors, it can only be blocked by artifacts


That should be "blocked by colorless creatures", since there are colored artifacts and colorless creatures (i.e. Eldrazi) now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hunter Shelburne
United States
San Marcos
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Check out Weaponsgrade Tabletop on Youtube!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
terivia wrote:
No, if some thing has protection from all colors, it can only be blocked by artifacts


But he is correct, protection from everything includes Protection from Creatures, ergo he can't be blocked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.