Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Max soldiers on discovery rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nomadic Gamer
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it intended/legal to overload discoveries with more than the maximum
needed?
Asked because it may be intended that a region only has 6 or 4 times the wealth on it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris C.
United States
Goshen
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
"Somewhere over the rainbow..."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nothing wrong with loading up on discovery with soldiers. Take as many as you want to the Discovery zone. But taking 10 soldiers to a single region is usually not as worthwile as 5 soldiers to 2 different regions (different turns of course).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nomadic Gamer
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not what I asked.
I asked if the intention was to be able to stick 8 soldiers and overharvest a region.
And I disagree- I've seen China havested by 8 soldiers for 24 dollars
by SEVERAL players.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
You can place as many soldiers as you want. The exception being you can't go over the 10 plastic soldiers you have. I am not sure how Chris didn't answer your question unless I don't understand what you are asking either.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lanphear
United States
Stockton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Now I'm confused. What does harvesting in China have to do with this game? I thought this was about discovering the NEW World (North and South America?) Only played it once but I don't remember China on the board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
China is on one of the discovery cards - along with India and other locations not in North America. The discovery cards are only used once all discoveries have been made on the board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
StocktonDave wrote:
Now I'm confused. What does harvesting in China have to do with this game? I thought this was about discovering the NEW World (North and South America?) Only played it once but I don't remember China on the board.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lanphear
United States
Stockton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, There were only a few discovery cards drawn in our game toward the end and most of them killed off the "explorer". It was "well I got three settlers in discovery, might as well take a chance". Thanks for the clarification. Guess I need to play the game a little more!!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Bohonko
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
As far as im aware it does'nt matter how many soldiers you send on a discovery you can only claim the plunder once, you cant take the plunder for each soldier you send, this is how we play it but anyone want to put me right on this feel free, its an interesting point. it certainly does'nt suggest it in the rules and i would think it would make the use of other colonists redundent in the discovery box if you got plunder for every soldier.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ronald fraigun
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bronxuk wrote:
As far as im aware it does'nt matter how many soldiers you send on a discovery you can only claim the plunder once, you cant take the plunder for each soldier you send, this is how we play it but anyone want to put me right on this feel free, its an interesting point. it certainly does'nt suggest it in the rules and i would think it would make the use of other colonists redundent in the discovery box if you got plunder for every soldier.


You do get the bonus for each solider you send, so if the zone gives say 3 money for a soldier but you sent in 3, you would get 9 for soldier money. Also when you discover a zone it doesn't matter how many units you send in they all go away execpt for one which will stay on the map as the discovery unit. All the rest back to your stock. The exception of course is if you are drawing a card and not discovering a zone on the board then they all go back to your stock. I hope this helps.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Bronxuk wrote:
As far as im aware it does'nt matter how many soldiers you send on a discovery you can only claim the plunder once, you cant take the plunder for each soldier you send, this is how we play it but anyone want to put me right on this feel free, its an interesting point. it certainly does'nt suggest it in the rules and i would think it would make the use of other colonists redundent in the discovery box if you got plunder for every soldier.

Consider yourself corrected!



There are two "types" of plunder when you discover something. First there is the "discovery" plunder if you will. It is the amount you get for successfully discovering the territory. It is a aset amount based ont he token/card and is not dependent on the number of people you send.

In the above example of Circumnavigate the Globe, you get 8 silver.

The next reward is based on teh number of soldiers you send. Same example, you get 3 silver for each soldiers sent. So if you send 1, you get 3. If you send 8, you get 24. So sending more is better in that you get more coin from it.

The reason why people don't stock up is that it is harder to get soldiers in the Discovery box vs. regular colonists. So you end up spending more to get the soldiers there and the potentially risk getting a per "per capita" reward.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
davedanger wrote:
Not what I asked.
I asked if the intention was to be able to stick 8 soldiers and overharvest a region.
And I disagree- I've seen China havested by 8 soldiers for 24 dollars
by SEVERAL players.


This comment has bothered me a bit. I know the OP has quite a few plays recorded and I assume he has played with larger number of players to be able to regularly tap the Discovery Deck.

I just want to point out that the card draw is random. And if the discovery fails, the card is shuffled back into the deck.

So you cannot deliberately target goiong after China (or any card for that matter). But perhaps he just meant he saw it happen a lot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Bohonko
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Ok ive reread the rules and it does seem its for each soldier, its not in the discovery section of the rules but in the specialist descriptions were it says "plunder for each soldier sent on an expedition".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xeonrf wrote:
You do get the bonus for each solider you send, so if the zone gives say 3 money for a soldier but you sent in 3, you would get 9 for soldier money. Also when you discover a zone it doesn't matter how many units you send in they all go away execpt for one which will stay on the map as the discovery unit. All the rest back to your stock. The exception of course is if you are drawing a card and not discovering a zone on the board then they all go back to your stock. I hope this helps.


After a successful discovery then you remove anyone associated with the discovery from that zone and replace them all with a single colonist.

So, if you made a successful discovery with, say, 3 soldiers and a captain, then you would remove all of them and then place a single (normal, non-soldier) colonist onto the space. This is an important distinction because leaving a soldier on the space would leave very obvious benefits.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Noonespecial wrote:
xeonrf wrote:
You do get the bonus for each solider you send, so if the zone gives say 3 money for a soldier but you sent in 3, you would get 9 for soldier money. Also when you discover a zone it doesn't matter how many units you send in they all go away execpt for one which will stay on the map as the discovery unit. All the rest back to your stock. The exception of course is if you are drawing a card and not discovering a zone on the board then they all go back to your stock. I hope this helps.


After a successful discovery then you remove anyone associated with the discovery from that zone and replace them all with a single colonist.

So, if you made a successful discovery with, say, 3 soldiers and a captain, then you would remove all of them and then place a single (normal, non-soldier) colonist onto the space. This is an important distinction because leaving a soldier on the space would leave very obvious benefits.


Correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ronald fraigun
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Budley wrote:
Noonespecial wrote:
xeonrf wrote:
You do get the bonus for each solider you send, so if the zone gives say 3 money for a soldier but you sent in 3, you would get 9 for soldier money. Also when you discover a zone it doesn't matter how many units you send in they all go away execpt for one which will stay on the map as the discovery unit. All the rest back to your stock. The exception of course is if you are drawing a card and not discovering a zone on the board then they all go back to your stock. I hope this helps.


After a successful discovery then you remove anyone associated with the discovery from that zone and replace them all with a single colonist.

So, if you made a successful discovery with, say, 3 soldiers and a captain, then you would remove all of them and then place a single (normal, non-soldier) colonist onto the space. This is an important distinction because leaving a soldier on the space would leave very obvious benefits.


Correct.


Hehe I knew I was, i've played this more times then I can count.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Tibbetts
United States
Oak Lawn
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If someone managed to save up all ten soldiers in discovery and then send them all to the discovery deck - more power to him I say. That sure would be a huge investment to get to that point, taking most of the game to the detriment of almost everything else. I'd hope that strategy would deliver some kind of payoff. The $37 at the end of the game might not even count for that much. You'd still have to have the opportunity to buy the right capital buildings with that money - or be able to buy Wealth and be done with it. If I saw someone loading up on soldiers like that near the end of the game I'd be extra sure to be in a good position to buy those level 3 capital buildings.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.