Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Cavum» Forums » Rules

Subject: Station placement and path connectedness rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Corin A. Friesen
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You play 3 tiles on your turn: X (played on top of a tile) and then Y and then Z, and then you build a station. You may only play the station on Z, because Z was you most recent station. Y is not your most recent tile, and X is the same and also on a higher level. Note that you do not have to be connected to anything to be able to build this station.

As for the second question, nothing can be traced through empty city spaces. Other players' stations in a city do block your line.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Aventura
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ideogram wrote:

Another player's station in a city doesn't really block your line,


There are only two situations when the location of other stations matters:

1) If you are placing a station in a city, there has to be a path from that space to one of your stations in the mountain that doesn't pass through another player's station. This rule also applies when scoring the station at the end of a round.

2) When prospecting, your route must begin from one of your stations and end in another (cannot both be the same station, since your route can't ever cross through the same tile twice). Your route may also never pass through another player's station.

When placing a station "in the mountain" (i.e. not in a city), all that matters is that you place it on a tunnel tile that you just placed. In other words, placing a station in the mountain requires two consecutive actions: placing the tile and placing the station on it. Whether there is a route connecting to that station from another station of yours or another player's is irrelevant.

So to answer your question as I understand it: NO, your route when prospecting cannot pass through a city space in which another player's station is located, or that is empty! However, your route CAN pass through a city space if one of YOUR stations is in that space.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.