Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

EastFront II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarify what "unsupported" means rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Krause
United States
patchogue
New York
flag msg tools
Can someone please clarify what unsupported means? I read in various places in the rulebook that it means you make half hits in attacking and that defenders roll DF (or TF if they are already DF). Do unsupported defenders make half-hits in defense?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does 7.4 Unsupported Combat answer your question?

7.4 UNSUPPORTED COMBAT

During a Combat Phase the Active Player may elect to have combat in a battle outside the Command Range of an active HQ. This is termed Unsupported Combat. In such battles, defending (passive) units have Double Defense.

Unsupported Combat versus units which already have Double Defense results in Triple Defense for the defending (passive) units.

Unsupported Combat is allowed during a Blitz Combat Phase, and it is mandatory when Blitzing units attack outside command range.

Unsupported Offensive Combat against Fortresses is ineffective, but still mandatory. No offensive hits can be scored, but the largest defender still has TF for Defensive Fire.

IMPORTANT: A player can engage in Unsupported Combat without activating any HQs in a turn. Obviously, no movement can occur, but a round of unsupported combat in battles of the active player’s choice is still possible and the supply status of enemy units is checked.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Krause
United States
patchogue
New York
flag msg tools
Yeah, but it mentions "half-hits" for offense in another part of the rule book. I'll have to hunt down the rules .pdf and use good ol' ctrl-F.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Isn't that what Double Defence mean? The attacker only inflict one "half-hit" for each hit scored, 7.34.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Also remember that Supreme HQ cannot provide combat support (at least we found this easy to forget at first...). SHQ can provide airstrike (with double the range of a normal HQ), but not combat support.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.