Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: guard and spending fatigue rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
tim meyer
United States
Mequon
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe I'm just missing it in the rules, but can fatigue be used to move before using a guard attack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Rozmiarek
United States
Liberty Hill
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you may not use fatigue to move during a guard order attack. In fact, you may not do any movement point based actions during a guard attack. You may only attack. Note however, you may use fatigue to add additional power dice during the guard attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edroz wrote:
No, you may not use fatigue to move during a guard order attack. In fact, you may not do any movement point based actions during a guard attack. You may only attack. Note however, you may use fatigue to add additional power dice during the guard attack.


While this is true in general, there is a hero in an expansion (Tahlia in Altar of Despair) that has the special ability to move during a Guard order. Note, however, that the base game rules specify that Fatigue may be spent for movement points only during the hero's turn, so the restriction still applies, even to this hero. Also note that there is no such restriction on spending Fatigue for extra power dice.

Descent JitD base Rules p.18 wrote:
Spending Fatigue for Movement
At any time during a hero’s turn, he may spend one
fatigue to gain one movement point, even if he is currently
taking the battle action. This may be done as often
as the hero desires. Movement points gained in this
manner are spent just like normal movement points.
Spending Fatigue for Attacks
After rolling an attack, a hero may spend one fatigue to
roll one additional power die, adding its result to the
roll. This may be done as often as the hero desires, one
die at a time.

Emphasis (underline, not bold) added.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tim meyer
United States
Mequon
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the help guys! Makes sense now. Looks like guard just got nerfed for my friends :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.