Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Scepter of Zavandor» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another Chalice of Fire question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Howard Wagner
United States
Odenton
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Chalice of Fire artifact allows you to receive one ruby card each round. It is treated as an active Ruby, so can be combined with 3 other active Rubies to gain a Ruby concentrated energy card each round. The questions are, and they really weren't completely answered in previous posts:

1) Can you even buy the Chalice of Fire if you haven't gotten to the fourth level of Knowledge of Fire?

2) If you can, can you gain the Ruby card each round before getting to the fourth level of Knowledge of Fire?

3) Is it possible that you would have to immediately convert that Ruby card to magic dust prior to getting to the fourth level of Knowledge of Fire, or do you get to keep the card no matter what? I seem to remember reading about this situation with another artifact.

Great game!!! Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Bankler
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
"Keep Summer Safe!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes, you can buy a chalice of fire w/o Level 4 in Knowledge of Fire.
2) You get the ruby card no matter what your level of fire is.
3) You don't have to convert it.

The only time you have to convert cards to dust are when you use the fairies track (which gives you two cards). Not when you get cards from any other method. I think that's the source of your confusion.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Grabiner
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bankler wrote:
1) Yes, you can buy a chalice of fire w/o Level 4 in Knowledge of Fire.
2) You get the ruby card no matter what your level of fire is.
3) You don't have to convert it.

The only time you have to convert cards to dust are when you use the fairies track (which gives you two cards). Not when you get cards from any other method. I think that's the source of your confusion.


In particular, you only have to convert cards to dust from the Knowledge of the 9 Sages if you have no way of holding that type of energy. If you get ruby cards from Knowledge of the 9 Sages and you have a Chalice of Fire, you can keep them as ruby cards even if you don't have any rubies.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Foy
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
We believe it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.