Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
B. Lenting
Netherlands
Wageningen
Gelderland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Because this year we spent our holiday at home, I have a certain amount of money to spend on games (something in the order of $100-$200). At the moment, though, I have no clue what I should buy. Probably you don't know me, so I will elaborate on the ponderings of the last week...

High Tide: I like naval and air combat, and I own Harpoon 4 (not 4.1). My problem is whether it adds new things. Is the data annex that I own sufficient to play. Convince me why I should buy this one.

Empire of the Sun: During my holiday I studied Pacific War and even came as far as sorting the counters for the first Engagement Scenario. Empire of the Sun is created by the same designer, but why should I buy this instead of playing Pacific War?

Birds of Prey: Air Combat in the Jet Age: As I said, I like air warfare. But is this one for me? I play Whistling Death, which is pretty complex, so probably the complexity is no problem (at least, no more than usual). What I don't like is those aircraft "counters", I think they kinda look crappy (hopefully I don't offend anybody).

The Burning Blue: I own Downtown, which I played a few times and liked. This is WW2 and aircraft... I saw a campaign which used The Burning Blue as strategic game and Whistling Death to resolve the dogfights, which I thought was very cool.

I like games which are tactical, but where the tactical actions have consequence on the bigger picture. So maybe you know some games that fit into this description.

Thanks in advance.

Rhialto

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Embark
Japan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Of the games you listed, I have only played Empire of the Sun and Burning Blue.