Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Yes--Another Gambling World Question?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Don Sikes
United States
Easley
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
There is a lot of discussion re. Gambling World about why you use the card, but I just don't understand exactly how the card works.

2 Questions re. Gambling World

1. Can you use both the dice roll to get a card and the consume power to get a victory point during the same phase?

2. Do you give up a good to use the dice to flip the card or is the dice simply a consumption power used whether you have a good or not?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fardog wrote:
There is a lot of discussion re. Gambling World about why you use the card, but I just don't understand exactly how the card works.

2 Questions re. Gambling World

1. Can you use both the dice roll to get a card and the consume power to get a victory point during the same phase?

2. Do you give up a good to use the dice to flip the card or is the dice simply a consumption power used whether you have a good or not?

Thanks


Gambling World has two independant consumption powers.

Power 1: Die Power: Name a card value 1-6, flip a card, if the card matches, take card into hand, otherwise discard it.
Power 2: Consume any good type for a VP.

Both must be activated if they can be during a Consume Phase.

There is no order implied by those Consume Powers.

You can do the card flip, consume somewhere else and then consume through the 'any good' power.


5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Yes, you can use both powers and no, the Draw if Lucky Consume power does not require a good.

From the base game rules, page 10, Draw if Lucky: "Name a number from 1-7. Turn the top card from the card supply face up. If is cost or defense matches the number, keep it. Otherwise, discard it. The Gambling World also has a standard consume power in addition to this one."

Note that the second expansion's Gambling World (a replacement card) has a different Draw if Lucky power.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Sikes
United States
Easley
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks BT and Tom---got it now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.