Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Catan: Cities & Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does AQUEDUCT Special Ability Supersede the Robber? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Prescott
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
The Aqueduct gives owner ability to take 1 resource of their choice from bank whenever a number other than the 7 is rolled that does not produce resources for them.

If I have the aqueduct special ability and have a settlement on the 12 hex which also has the robber on it when the 12 is rolled, do I get to take a resource of my choice from the bank?

Thanks
steve
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Holder
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Whenever a roll that is not a seven occurs, and you get no resources, even if that is because the robber steals them, then you get a free resource from the Aqueduct.

See also:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/360587

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/90063

To sum up, and quote an earlier reply of my own:

In case you are wondering on the authority of the answer, it is the official answer from the faq at siedeln.de (although that is in german):

http://www.siedeln.de/faq/254_325_de.html

loosely translated with help from Google Translate:

If I have the aqueduct and then my resource number comes up, if I am blockaded by the robber then do I receive a resource from the aqueduct?

I have, for example, a settlement on Wool with a 4 and this field is blocked by the robber. I've already reached the aqueduct. The 4 is rolled. In this case, will I get any resource of my choice?"

Short answer for pragmatists:
Yes.

Long answer for adepts:
Only when the "7" is rolled, do nothing. If you are blocked by a robber and receive no resources, you may take an aqueduct produced resource.


[ edited to reflect the correct terminology that I failed to catch out of Google translate ]
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
peapicker wrote:
Long answer for adepts:
Only when the "7" is rolled, do nothing. If you are blocked by a robber and receive no resources, you may take an aqueduct produced commodity.

Just to clear up any confusion: the Aqueduct grants resources (wool, grain) and not commodities (paper, cloth).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.