Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Benjamin Wooten
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Relevant personal background: My CCG background is limited entirely to Magic: The Gathering, which I played off and on for years. I started playing the original release, dabbled in some of the expansions, dropped everything out of financial frustration, then got back into it a couple of years later. I never aspired towards tournament play, however I enjoyed being competitive with my deck. I just couldn't keep up with all the cards, and had fewer and fewer people to play with.

With this in mind, the LCG model - which takes the random "baseball card" collecting mechanism out of building a deck - interested me greatly. I also find that I am happier in the role of a casual player, and was looking for a card game I could play out of the box with my wife.

My interest in Lovecraft's Cthulhu mythos was enough to put me over the edge and pick up a copy of the Call of Cthulhu LCG at my local game store. This is my first review on the Geek, and while I realize many good CoC LCG reviews have been written (covering rules and cards in much more depth) I'm hoping this one might be another helpful opinion for casual players looking to get involved at the ground level with a Core Set.

goo=Below expectation
googoo=At expectation
googoogoo=Exceeds expectation

QUALITY/QUANTITY/TYPE OF BITS
googoo

The domain drain markers (solid, heavy plastic Cthulhu figurines) are a very nice touch. The cards are well printed and finished on nice heavy cardstock. Though I may receive threatening messages from CCGers, I'm a big fan of the white borders on these CoC LCG cards. I don't keep my cards in sleeves, and I know they're going to get handled. Unless they print them on solid black core paper, I think the white edges wear better. The board is solid, a simple horizontal bi-fold, clearly laying out the center of the action between the two players.