Popular Tags: gotw [+] [View All]
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
He is one of those members who have been around for several years and whose opinion I will always read when researching a new game, even if our tastes are not always similar. I have also noticed him as the other guy who will add Dragonland to geeklists whenever it fits. cool

I present you the new Geek of the Week:
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

curtc wrote:
Hi all! Thanks Gláucio for being a great GoW #198 and for the nomination! This should be fun. Here goes...

I guess the thing normal to do is start off with a mini background self-intro:
Once upon a time, when the only milk I drank was from a powder mix, and when the only way for our black & white TV to get semi-decent reception was use a pair of pliers to hold the broken channel changer knob about 20% toward the next higher channel, I started playing games. (The milk and tv thing lasted waaaay too long, btw.)

The short version of my youth, as far as gaming goes: My grandparents played a lot of cards. Mostly what now would be considered lame games. And ALL based on a Rook deck. A few trickled down and were play our family, but I can't even remember the names of any except one that we called 7-Up, but I don't think it's the I found listed on BGG. We played Trouble from a pretty young age. I still think that that game, as simple as it is, is actually better than many games put out these days as kids games. I won't name names, but many have little to no meaningful decisions, in the name of making it kid friendly. (Oops, getting off track...)