Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Confusing Undying rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: clarification [+] [View All]
Universal Head
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Professional creative visual communication: www.universalhead.com
badge
Game summaries and reference sheets: www.headlesshollow.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I clarify something that seems to be incorrect in both my vanilla Descent and Road to Legend player aids - the rules for 'Undying'.

Is this correct?

Roll 1 power die when the figure is killed; on a surge it is restored to full health; lingering effects remain and leftover damage is still applied.

For one thing, I thought lingering effects were removed (it says so in the basic rulebook) but it seems that has been changed in the FAQ.

if this definition is correct I'll update both of my sheets.

Cheers
Universal Head
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Universal Head
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Professional creative visual communication: www.universalhead.com
badge
Game summaries and reference sheets: www.headlesshollow.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh bugger. Can someone help me out here, I haven't played this for ages...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corbon Loughnan
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MrSkeletor wrote:
UniversalHead wrote:
Can I clarify something that seems to be incorrect in both my vanilla Descent and Road to Legend player aids - the rules for 'Undying'.

Is this correct?

Roll 1 power die when the figure is killed; on a surge it is restored to full health; lingering effects remain and leftover damage is still applied.

For one thing, I thought lingering effects were removed (it says so in the basic rulebook) but it seems that has been changed in the FAQ.

if this definition is correct I'll update both of my sheets.

Cheers
Universal Head


Can't remember the answer to your specific question, but be aware that the 'undying' rules are DIFFERENT for Vanilla descent then they are for RTL. So the answer may be yes for one but not the other.


Indeed.
Summarised:
RtL - surge = complete renewal. Full health, no lingering effects.
Vanilla - surge = cancel 1 death's worth of wounds. Continue applying left over wounds and lingering effects remain until the figure 'dies' fully or their normal duration expires.

Full quotes below.

RtL Pg 30
Undying
When an Undying figure is killed, roll one power die. If a power
surge is rolled, the figure is instantly restored to full health, and
any lingering effects are removed.
An Undying figure must stay
dead in order for effects that take place when it is “killed” to
actually occur


DJitD pg 23
Undying
When an Undying figure is killed, roll one power die. If
a power surge is rolled, the figure is instantly restored to
full health (although any leftover damage from the
killing blow is then applied to it)
. An Undying figure
must stay dead in order for effects that take place when
it is “killed” to actually occur.


FAQ pg 6
Q: In "vanilla" descent, extra damage done to an undying figure "rolls over" when it rolls a surge. Does the damage need to get through armor again? Or is armor already accounted for in the original attack. What happens to lingering effects such as burn? Do they go away when a surge is rolled? Or remain until the figure stays dead??
A: It does not need to go through armour again. Lingering effects remain until the figure fails an Undying roll, or the lingering effects expire normally.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Universal Head
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Professional creative visual communication: www.universalhead.com
badge
Game summaries and reference sheets: www.headlesshollow.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks very much indeed folks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.