Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » General

Subject: TS maps and (rules) 8.1.5 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I noticed GMT is going to print and mount an new map for the forthcoming brand new edition/print of TS.

I noticed that in the new map the DEFCON track legend is missing a reference to Realignment rolls as in the old maps.

Rule 8.1.5 states that Defcon status affects the possibility of performin a Realignment roll too.

Is it an error or am I missing something else.


PS: What is the Chinese civil war optional rule? once the soviet player piles 3 influence points and plays the china card, are they reset to 0?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sven
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
We will move from victims to survivors and conquer as we go.
Avatar
mbmb
masdero wrote:
I noticed GMT is going to print and mount an new map for the forthcoming brand new edition/print of TS.


I didn't see any confirmation yet, that the board will be mounted. Did I miss something?
If so, I will propably upgrade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I read it somewhere, but I do not remember where.

For now ignore the "mounted" word, just to be safe.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Железный комиссар
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chinese Civil War:

The China Card starts out of play. To obtain it, the Soviets must spend three influence points. Until they do so, they are subject to the following penalties:

They may not use Red Scare / Purge as an event.
The US receives a +1 modifier during the Korean War event.
Ussuri River Skirmish (as well as the other relevant midwar events) trigger as though the US player is currently in possession of the China card.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Matthews
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tanakor wrote:


I didn't see any confirmation yet, that the board will be mounted. Did I miss something?
If so, I will propably upgrade.


The board will be mounted.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JasonMatthews wrote:
Tanakor wrote:


I didn't see any confirmation yet, that the board will be mounted. Did I miss something?
If so, I will propably upgrade.


The board will be mounted.


There will be other remarkable changes?
Different layout of the cards, etc?

Will the current version of the game compatible with the new mounted map?
(I think not because of the changed colours of the continents, i.e. scoring of south america)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Ferreira
Portugal
Porto Salvo
Porto Salvo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Terrible news to my wallet shake
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JohnRayJr wrote:
Chinese Civil War:

The China Card starts out of play. To obtain it, the Soviets must spend three influence points. Until they do so, they are subject to the following penalties:

They may not use Red Scare / Purge as an event.
The US receives a +1 modifier during the Korean War event.
Ussuri River Skirmish (as well as the other relevant midwar events) trigger as though the US player is currently in possession of the China card.


Also Formosan Resolution cannot be played as an event
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jackalope wrote:
JohnRayJr wrote:
Chinese Civil War:

The China Card starts out of play. To obtain it, the Soviets must spend three influence points. Until they do so, they are subject to the following penalties:

They may not use Red Scare / Purge as an event.
The US receives a +1 modifier during the Korean War event.
Ussuri River Skirmish (as well as the other relevant midwar events) trigger as though the US player is currently in possession of the China card.


Also Formosan Resolution cannot be played as an event


So both players can use that cards only for the OPs or to dump it onto the space race?
So it became a (text-)blank card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Bessette
Canada
Brandon
Manitoba
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
masdero wrote:
jackalope wrote:
JohnRayJr wrote:
Chinese Civil War:

The China Card starts out of play. To obtain it, the Soviets must spend three influence points. Until they do so, they are subject to the following penalties:

They may not use Red Scare / Purge as an event.
The US receives a +1 modifier during the Korean War event.
Ussuri River Skirmish (as well as the other relevant midwar events) trigger as though the US player is currently in possession of the China card.


Also Formosan Resolution cannot be played as an event


So both players can use that cards only for the OPs or to dump it onto the space race?
So it became a (text-)blank card?


The same is true of NATO until the Marshall Plan or The Warsaw Pact is created.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Железный комиссар
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or Arab-Israeli War after the Camp David Accords. Or OPEC after North Sea Oil. "Unplayable for the Event" is not all that unusual.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understood that the Formosan Resolution can't be played as an event for the whole match. So this card changes to a textless one, and that's a bit strange
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Железный комиссар
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All of these effects disappear as soon as the Soviets spend 3IP to obtain China. After that, Formosan is playable as an event etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Brown
United States
Macon
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sassmatic wrote:
masdero wrote:
jackalope wrote:
JohnRayJr wrote:
Chinese Civil War:

The China Card starts out of play. To obtain it, the Soviets must spend three influence points. Until they do so, they are subject to the following penalties:

They may not use Red Scare / Purge as an event.
The US receives a +1 modifier during the Korean War event.
Ussuri River Skirmish (as well as the other relevant midwar events) trigger as though the US player is currently in possession of the China card.


Also Formosan Resolution cannot be played as an event


So both players can use that cards only for the OPs or to dump it onto the space race?
So it became a (text-)blank card?


The same is true of NATO until the Marshall Plan or The Warsaw Pact is created.


Or Solidarity if the John Paul II Elected Pope event hasn't happened.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Massey
United States
Teachey
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Casual wargamer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Will the new mounted board be available separately for sale?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JackFlash wrote:
Will the new mounted board be available separately for sale?


I noticed that the colours on the map changes, so it won't match the colours of the scoring cards (and I have to create a new version of my template cards http://www.massimilianodellarovere.eu/giochi/twilight_strugg... )
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Tyler
United States
Minnetonka
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
masdero wrote:

I noticed that in the new map the DEFCON track legend is missing a reference to Realignment rolls as in the old maps.

Rule 8.1.5 states that Defcon status affects the possibility of performin a Realignment roll too.

Is it an error or am I missing something else.


The current version of the map doesn't say anything about realignment rolls either. I don't expect this will change, although it is listed as a variant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Pollock
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are there any new cards planned for the 2009 version?

best,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.