Popular Tags: [View All]
Cory Duplantis
United States
Mississippi
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey guys,

I am not really new to gaming, but I am completely new to conventions. I have never attended any convention before, but after watching Tom Vasal's videos on Origins, I am really anxious to try to attend a convention. I am currently in Mississippi and would be around this area.

What I am asking is are there any conventions near Mississippi and what can I do to prepare for a convention. I am in a dead gaming area. There aren't any real gamers other than the people I have tried to get interested in the hobby, so going to a convention would be a dream come true. Thanks everyone!

Cory D.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr ?
United States
Midwest
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Do it, man. I have never been to Origins but GENCON is so much damn fun. You will meet like minded folks and see all kinds of kick ass stuff to buy. I would recommend that you bring a few games you are really hot to play and make sure you sign up for the con in advance which would include registering for events you want to participate in. In a like vein, hotels and accomodations get picked over so earlier is always better.

Finally, be prepared to sleep less! Have a good one,

Dan

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitch Willis
United States
Kathleen
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't know if it's close enough to you or not, but Gamefest South 2 will be held in Chattanooga, TN in mid-August. Here's a link with more info:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/417295
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon
United States
Edmond
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
admin
Convention Committee
badge
BGG.CON! BGG.CON SPRING! BGG@SEA!
mbmbmbmbmb
BGG.Con

4 days of the best gaming (and best gamers) you'll find, anywhere. Go. Looking at your profile, ratings, etc....I promise you'll have a great time.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher M
United States
Flowood
MS