Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Shifting Sands» Forums » Rules

Subject: Iraqi Revolt - what if it isn't played by 1942? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Hammond
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say the Axis player either:

(1) has terrible luck drawing cards and doesn't draw Iraqi Revolt before 1941 ends (quite unlikely, but not impossible, esp. not if the Axis carries over a card or two a few times AND the Allies play maybe 2 Malta Convoys in '41)...

(2) or the Axis player plays it for something other than the event out of desperation (i.e. for RP or Ops).. or maybe to drive home an auto-win by getting an El Alamein or EA VP. Once 1941 ends, "Iraqi Revolt" can then NEVER be played for the Event.

What effect does this have besides denying the Axis "another front" with which to distract the Allies from more important tasks in East and North Africa? Is it completely VP-neutral? Is the only effect for either side that it's just one less front to deal with?

The starting VP total of 10 includes the Allies controlling Jerusalem, but that's all for the Middle/Near East, right? So if none of the Axis spaces become active, then Jerusalem just stays as an Allied VP (not one ADDED, since they start the game with it), and the Axis can only fight in the ME/NE theater if the (HEH) drive all the way there from Libya/Egypt (not likely!!)

Thanks for your help~
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What effect does this have besides denying the Axis "another front" with which to distract the Allies from more important tasks in East and North Africa? Is it completely VP-neutral? Is the only effect for either side that it's just one less front to deal with?


The event may not be played in 1942. It means the revolt doesn't happen and the Near East remains quiet. Ali and his "Golden Square" never seize power, the Vichy French in the Levant remain passive (and refuse to let German air units base there).

The Allies can still invade the Levant, after they play
Operation Torch as I recall. So one effect is that it delays the number of turns the Allies have to seize that Axis VP in the Levant.

As you note, it's rare that the revolt doesn't occcur. What is less common is a full-fledged German intervention.

Michael Rinella
Designer, Shifting Sands
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.