Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hold the Line» Forums » Rules

Subject: close combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens during close combat to the defender unit after it doesnt pass the morale check? Does it leave the hex even if it wasnt hit or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Burkhard Hannig
Germany
Neritz
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
kalevi1999 wrote:
What happens during close combat to the defender unit after it doesnt pass the morale check? Does it leave the hex even if it wasnt hit or not?


OK lets stress this example, when I play with all the optional rules
I have the following situation:

Unit A wants to close combat unit B:

Both fail their Moral rolls.

This means unit A will only shoot (and it doesn't matter if they wound B or not)
Unit B will leave its hex (because of the failed morale roll).
Unit A can advance in the now free hex (optional rule)

Is this example played correctly?

Greetings
Burkhard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Klein
Germany
Schoenaich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
groescha wrote:

OK lets stress this example, when I play with all the optional rules
I have the following situation:

Unit A wants to close combat unit B:

Both fail their Moral rolls.

This means unit A will only shoot (and it doesn't matter if they wound B or not)
Unit B will leave its hex (because of the failed morale roll).
Unit A can advance in the now free hex (optional rule)

Is this example played correctly?

Greetings
Burkhard


I think this is wrong:

According to rule 11.1, if the attacker morale roll fails, the attacker can only conduct fire combat, so the defender should not have to roll a morale check at all (according to 8.4.2, he only has to do so during close combat, and close combat does not happen). At least this is how we play it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ogrim wrote:
groescha wrote:

OK lets stress this example, when I play with all the optional rules
I have the following situation:

Unit A wants to close combat unit B:

Both fail their Moral rolls.

This means unit A will only shoot (and it doesn't matter if they wound B or not)
Unit B will leave its hex (because of the failed morale roll).
Unit A can advance in the now free hex (optional rule)

Is this example played correctly?

Greetings
Burkhard


I think this is wrong:

According to rule 11.1, if the attacker morale roll fails, the attacker can only conduct fire combat, so the defender should not have to roll a morale check at all (according to 8.4.2, he only has to do so during close combat, and close combat does not happen). At least this is how we play it.


I believe that is correct.

If the attacker passes the morale check, however, even if the shot misses the defender will retreat and the attacker will take the hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.