Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Dominion: Intrigue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Library - can you put Nobles aside or you have to take them? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Branko K.
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Umm.. the title says it all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Jaberg
United States
Milwaukee
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'd assume you have the choice, since they ARE action cards, which can be set aside by the Library.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
baba44713 wrote:
Umm.. the title says it all.


Library Card:
Quote:
Draw until you have 7 cards in hand.
You may set aside any Action cards drawn this way; as you draw them; discard the set aside cards after you finish drawing.


Dual card types count as all respective card types.

Thus the Noble is an action and may be put aside.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zach Kessler
United States
ithaca
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, then BSW needs to know there is a programming error
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I'm free-basing midichloriens and the force is, like, an energy that connects and penetrates us all, man.
United States
Saint Ann
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But it's also a non-Action card, which you may not set aside.

Right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Graham
United States
College Station
Texas
flag msg tools
I am Broccoli, most intelligent vegetable!
badge
I will destroy you all!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My guess is that you can set them aside. Because the text says "You may set aside any Action cards drawn this way", you can set them aside. Now, if it said "Keep any non-action cards", I could see room for debate.

Broccoli
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Graham
United States
College Station
Texas
flag msg tools
I am Broccoli, most intelligent vegetable!
badge
I will destroy you all!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dreadpirate wrote:
But it's also a non-Action card, which you may not set aside.

Right?


See, that's not explicitly stated on the card though. Since it only refers to Action cards, the Nobles would be viewed in that context. If the card also referred specifically to non-Action cards, it would be different.

Broccoli
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
Plaatsvervangende Schaamte
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
dreadpirate wrote:
But it's also a non-Action card, which you may not set aside.

Right?


The rules (http://www.riograndegames.com/uploads/Game/Game_306_gameRule...) say this:

Rules wrote:
Cards that are more than one type are more than one type for all purposes!


Just as Mine and Adventurer can interact with Harem, Library should be able to set aside Nobles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirkwb
United States
Nevada
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dreadpirate wrote:
But it's also a non-Action card, which you may not set aside.

Right?


Where did you ever read "you may not set aside non-Action cards?"
4 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kirkwb wrote:
dreadpirate wrote:
But it's also a non-Action card, which you may not set aside.

Right?


Where did you ever read "you may not set aside non-Action cards?"


He didn't. The complete text of Library is above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dreadpirate wrote:
But it's also a non-Action card, which you may not set aside. Right?


Wrong. Nobles is an Action card, and it is also a Victory card. It is not a "non-Action card", nor is it a "non-Victory card", if those terms were used in the game. It is a "non-Treasure card" and also a "non-Attack card".
5 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I'm free-basing midichloriens and the force is, like, an energy that connects and penetrates us all, man.
United States
Saint Ann
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kirkwb wrote:
Where did you ever read "you may not set aside non-Action cards?"

Quote:
Draw until you have 7 cards in hand.
You may set aside any Action cards drawn this way; as you draw them; discard the set aside cards after you finish drawing.


Just playing devil's advocate. Library does not say you can set aside Victory cards. And the rules say it is considered a Victory card. whistle

But after thinking about it, yes. I defer: the defined action doesn't necessarily imply the exclusion of the non-defined action.

If she weighs the same as a duck, she's made of wood, and we should burn her. I'll wander back to Chit-Chat now.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cards with 2 types have all the advantages and disadvantages of BOTH types of card.

Nobles are hit by bureaucrat because they are a Victory card. Thieves can steal harems because they are treasure cards. Nobles can be set aside by library because they are action cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dreadpirate wrote:
kirkwb wrote:
Where did you ever read "you may not set aside non-Action cards?"

Quote:
Draw until you have 7 cards in hand.
You may set aside any Action cards drawn this way; as you draw them; discard the set aside cards after you finish drawing.


Just playing devil's advocate. Library does not say you can set aside Victory cards. And the rules say it is considered a Victory card. whistle

But after thinking about it, yes. I defer: the defined action doesn't necessarily imply the exclusion of the non-defined action.


Library interacts only with Action Cards. It does not interact with non-action cards, victory point cards, treasure cards, attack cards, blue cards, business cards, poker cards, 3x5 cards, library cards, credit cards, debit cards, flash cards, cards from other games or any other kind of cards.

Nobles is an Action Card. It is also a Victory Card, but Library doesn't interact with Victory Cards, so we don't care about that fact.

Per the Library's text, you may set it aside.

If you do not set it aside, you MUST take it into your hand.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Leuchtenburg
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LckyDice777 wrote:
Ok, then BSW needs to know there is a programming error


A bug in BSW's implementation of Dominion!? Say it ain't so! wow
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph
United States
Ankeny
Iowa
flag msg tools
because it's all I ever wanted to be..
badge
Cloning gamers since 2003
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dreadpirate wrote:
kirkwb wrote:
Where did you ever read "you may not set aside non-Action cards?"

Quote:
Draw until you have 7 cards in hand.
You may set aside any Action cards drawn this way; as you draw them; discard the set aside cards after you finish drawing.


Just playing devil's advocate. Library does not say you can set aside Victory cards. And the rules say it is considered a Victory card. whistle

But after thinking about it, yes. I defer: the defined action doesn't necessarily imply the exclusion of the non-defined action.

If she weighs the same as a duck, she's made of wood, and we should burn her. I'll wander back to Chit-Chat now.



I thumb up mainly for the Monty Python Quote!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.