Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

D-Day at Omaha Beach» Forums » Rules

Subject: Draw hexes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rick Yarto
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Raining down board gaming fun since 1985!
badge
Play DVG's Field Commander Nimitz!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for checking BGG, John (and Chris) - I feel I'm the only one with questions here! I see lots more activity on CSW however, but so far, I have this site to myself!

Verify if this correct:

Draw E-3 includes 8 hexes (including those with w/ forest cover).
Draw E-1 includes 6 hexes.
Draw D-3 includes 6 hexes.
Draw D-1 only includes 2 hexes. That +5VP here is making the difference!

It's Turn 14 and although the 1st Div. is one Infantry unit away from a Cast. Loss, I have the required VP's to continue the fight. I'm hanging on by a thread...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Butterfield
United States
Fremont
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Yes Rick, your counts are correct.

Keep in mind that to control a draw for VP purposes you need to have its hexes in control of US units AND it has to be free of German fire, meaning in the case of D-1, that WN71, WN72N, WN72S, and reinforcement positions 0830 and 0732 would have to be free of German units.

Good Luck!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Yarto
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Raining down board gaming fun since 1985!
badge
Play DVG's Field Commander Nimitz!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...AND FREE OF GERMAN FIRE!!soblue

I avoided the Cast. Loss in both division by the end of Turn 16 but what I thought was going to be a 16 VP situation quickly evaporated to a 7 VP reality...a decisive US defeat.cry

I didn't account for that part of the requirement for control purposes; even hexes with US occupation but with a single sporadic dot from a nearby reinforcement position kept me from attaining these elusive VPs. A disrupted WN position with one lousy unit kept me from Draw D-1...argh!!

BUT - I have learned so much about the mechanics and tactice this game has to offer that I wasted no time clearing the plexi-glass board for another shot. Let's see what happens now...with the knowledge of what NOT to do!

Thanks for hours (days!) of enjoyment!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.