BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Agricola / Caylus Fan looking for another Heavy Game. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joseph Garnett
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Hey everyone, I've been looking around the site for awhile now but this is my first time to post. And I need recommendations! Here's what I already own:

Agricola - love it!
Puerto Rico - eh, it's alright.
Caylus - another great game!
Settlers of Catan + Expansions - boring by itself but fun with everything!
Power Grid - didn't really like it. much easier than expected.

Here's generally what I look for in a new game:

Heavier games. Usually 3.0 weight or higher!
Usually no more than 2 hours...possibly would consider up to 3 hrs.
Small or no luck involved.
Not really looking for a war game either.

I have read alot of good things about games like Kingsburg, Dominion, StoneAge, and Small World but the weights aren't quite where I'd like it to be. For tactical and strategic gamers are these ones worth our time?

Any of you have any awesome recommendations?!?!

P.S. I have also just ordered Amun-Re and In the Shadow of the Emperor. None in our group has ever played either, did I make good choices?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Knauer
United States
Heathrow
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
These should keep you entertained for a while:

Goa
In the Year of the Dragon
The Princes of Florence
El Grande
Through the Ages: A Story of Civilization
Brass: Lancashire
Le Havre
Tigris & Euphrates
Age of Steam
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dice bags!
United States
Wurtsboro
NY
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Take a look at Amyitis and Cuba. Agricola and Cuba are my two "tens". (It depends what you like and don't like about Puerto Rico, whether you would like Cuba, but I'll throw it out there.) Stone Age is fun, but it's lighter.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California