Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Automobile» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick Executive Decisions Q rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ricky Gray
United States
Powder Springs
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all.

I assume that in the Executive Decisions part of the turn that you keep going round until everyone has passed - in other words, that it's possible to 'make' more than one Executive Decision in a turn.

??

Thanks,
Ricky
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chester
United States
Temple
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Gray
United States
Powder Springs
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the confirmation, Chester.

Ricky
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But there are the restrictions on the board:

Only one factory can be closed (once the tile is taken, that's it).

Only one white (bonus sales) cube can be placed in a model space.

Only the gray (reduced price) cubes from one of the three spots (either the two cubes or the two single cubes) can be placed in a model space.

So there are a finite number of rounds. (We did this wrong the first time; people were closing several factories.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GS in KS wrote:
Only one factory can be closed (once the tile is taken, that's it).


You probably did this right, but just to make it absolutely clear: with the Close Factory action or Executive Decision, you will close all factories (each wooden rectangle, be it a car factory or a parts factory) in one location.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Good clarification. One space can be closed. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nomadic Gamer
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"Only one white (bonus sales) cube can be placed in a model space."

Which makes me ask;
Why does the first one cost 2 cubes?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Schaeffer
United States
Unspecified
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davedanger wrote:
"Only one white (bonus sales) cube can be placed in a model space."

Which makes me ask;
Why does the first one cost 2 cubes?


Suppose you're first to choose an Executive Decision (leaving aside the Close Factory option). Do you spend the two R&D cubes to do it, knowing that this makes it easier for those coming after you to get bonus sales? (Do you even have two R&D cubes left after building factories in new-technology model spaces?) Do you wait and hope that someone else takes the first white cylinder so you can grab one for less? If you wait, what are you going to do in the meantime? Your choices are Close Factory or Reduced Price; do your circumstances make either of those feasible or desirable? And if you wait, will you still get a chance, or will three people snap the bonus cylinders up before it gets back to you.

The higher cost of the first bonus cylinder makes the decision process deeper and adds an element of playing chicken to the Executive Decision phase.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.