Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Revolution: The Dutch Revolt 1568-1648» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assignement of bishoprics and the Nobility rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael
Germany
Ulm
Ba-Wü
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

how does the Nobility affect the bishoprics? It is not mentioned in the rules [6.18], although one can think, they move towards Catholic as in the initial assignement during turn 0 [5.7].

Thanks,
Michael
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Ferreira
Portugal
Porto Salvo
Porto Salvo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rules:
Quote:
The status of bishoprics depends on the faction controlling the province, not the cathedral city or town.
If the province card is held by the Catholic faction, the bishopric will be strongly Catholic, if the province card is held by the Burghers it will be reformed and if it is held by the Reformers it will be strongly reformed. In all other situations the bishopric will be Catholic.


So, for me its clear that they are catholic. Nobles and Habsburgs control of bishoprics province (or if the province is uncontrolled) make them Catholic.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gareth Cooper
United Kingdom
Gateshead
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the initial Turn 0 assignment [5.7], the Nobility have no effect on the status quo so a Bishopric remains naturally Catholic (rather than them becoming Catholic as a result of control by the nobility).

Same applies in [6.18]. Control by the nobility does not change the current position of the status marker from the previous position in any way.

Edit - See also the "Living FAQ" : http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/14095
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bachman
United States
Colonie
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Nobility are not mentioned in 6.18 because they have no impact on the status of Bishoprics. Likewise, the Nobility have no impact on the status of Universities. It is one of the strengths of the Nobility, and occassionally a hindrance to them as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.