Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
23 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: Rebel vs Imperium» Forums » Variants

Subject: Post-RvI community created cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Maël Brustlein
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Now that we've played a few games with the second expansion, we probably have a better grasp of the new game mechanics introduced by RvI. Everyone's probably busy playing right now, but I thought I might just start that thread.

Any ideas?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J R

New Jersey
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Recycling World - Non-Military Rare Goods Production World
4 Cost
1 Victory Point

I: +1 Look
IV: Produce a good on this world
V: Do not product a good on this world

________________________

Debating whether or not to lower the cost to 3 and dropping the explore power.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J R

New Jersey
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Gene Replication Center - Development
Cost - 6
Victory Points - 4 for Gene Designers, 3 for Genetics Lab, 1 for other gene worlds.

III: -2/+2 for settling gene worlds
IV: consume a gene goods for 3 cards
V: Produce on all gene windfall worlds
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J R

New Jersey
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Alien Mothership - Military Alien Windfall World
Defense 7
Victory Points 5

III: -1/+1 to settle alien worlds for each alien world in your tableau (including this one)
III: May attempt to conquer a Military alien world
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J R

New Jersey
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
This one is a real work in progress

Parasitic Culture - Development
Cost - 0
VPs - -5

I: +1 Look
II: -1 Cost
III: May discard a world worth 2+ victory points from your tableau in order to disard Parasitic Culture
$: +1 card
IV: Consume 1 good for a VP and a card
V: Draw one card
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Levert
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Beowuulf1 wrote:
III: May discard a world worth 2+ victory points from your tableau in order to disard Parasitic Culture


What with the massive tempo loss in discardng 2 cards from your tableau, i think the condition of "2+vp" may be unnecessary.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maël Brustlein
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Styfen wrote:
I originally intended to send this in for the competition, but I couldn't bare to part with my blank competition card for some inexplicable reason.

So I present it here instead - I created this one before seeing the contents of Rebel vs. Imperium so I was rather pleased and surprised with the couple of the UPLIFT/ALIEN worlds which turned up.

 

Although I like the idea, I think this card makes scoring with Galactic Exchance extremely easy, especially since alien and gene worlds are harder to find (and to play). That said, it's just a single world and there's just one Galactic Exchange as well, so...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cwissy
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Neutral Planet, Non-military Gray world
3 cost, 2 VP

III Draw 1 card after settle
III -1/+1 settle/military bonus

Card special power: Any military world in this tableau is considered non-military.

I figure if the player who has this plus Contact Specialist in his tableau can play a takeover game without worrying about being attacked, presuming he doesn't have any developments with military bonuses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maël Brustlein
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Styfen wrote:
How about changing the word "and" to the word "or" and/or increasing the cost of the world to 5, I believe that might solve the problem somewhat. It makes the world flexible in scoring the GE as I didn't intend for it to count as two slots in the Galactic Exchange VP bit (but I did design the card before I saw the GE).

So the player would have to choose between genes or alien when they settle this world?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bob Moron wrote:
Styfen wrote:
How about changing the word "and" to the word "or" and/or increasing the cost of the world to 5, I believe that might solve the problem somewhat. It makes the world flexible in scoring the GE as I didn't intend for it to count as two slots in the Galactic Exchange VP bit (but I did design the card before I saw the GE).

So the player would have to choose between genes or alien when they settle this world?


I'm guessing the player would have to choose the moment:

1) The player consumes the good.
2) The player counts VP, so he will have to pick.

Otherwise it gets messy remembering if the world was supposed to be alien or gene.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wei-Hwa Huang
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chrdona1970 wrote:
I figure if the player who has this plus Contact Specialist in his tableau can play a takeover game without worrying about being attacked, presuming he doesn't have any developments with military bonuses.


A player who plays Contact Specialist but who doesn't play Imperium cards or Rebel military worlds is already immune from attack...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Austin
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Deep Space Privateer-Development-4/2
III: +2 Military
IV: Remove 2 VP chits in the pool from the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Neuhaus
United States
New York
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Baltar wrote:
Deep Space Privateer-Development-4/2
III: +2 Military
IV: Remove 2 VP chits in the pool from the game.


Remove as in take out of play, but do not receive them? If so, I think this is way too weak. Maybe make discarding the chits optional (and also possibly extending the game with chits, eg, -2 VPs or +2 VPs)? If you are playing a two player game against an early produce/consumer (think Earth's Lost Colony + Alien Toy Shop), discarding chits could actually hurt you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh P.
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Now with two expansions, it had become even harder to find that one six cost development card you need to really kick some butt. What this game really needs is a search card. Like Demonic Tutor in Magic: The Gathering.

Research Probe - Development - 6/0
II: Discard this development to search the deck for any other development and put it into your hand. Then shuffle the deck.

Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guy Srinivasan
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If there is a search card I will almost certainly play without it. Except maybe if everyone is very experienced. Those things are so slow, and have such a huge barrier-to-entry!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendon Russell
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joshp wrote:
Now with two expansions, it had become even harder to find that one six cost development card you need to really kick some butt. What this game really needs is a search card. Like Demonic Tutor in Magic: The Gathering.

Research Probe - Development - 6/0
II: Discard this development to search the deck for any other development and put it into your hand. Then shuffle the deck.

Thoughts?


1. Although there's a bigger deck size to contend with, there's also more overlap between the 6-cost developments. Finding the *perfect* one may not always be possible, but finding a decent one usually is.

2. Despite my own comment above, by coincidence I'd been pondering a similar card idea based on similar reasoning. Since I may submit it for the card contest, I'll keep the details to myself for now
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Austin
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I still haven't had a chance to play but after reading the takeover rules I can't help but think one of my ideas from the card thread on the last expansion could apply here:

Strategic Arms Cruiser-Development-2/0
III: Return any number of VP chips to the pot for +2 military this phase per chit discarded.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Neuhaus
United States
New York
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Baltar wrote:
I still haven't had a chance to play but after reading the takeover rules I can't help but think one of my ideas from the card thread on the last expansion could apply here:

Strategic Arms Cruiser-Development-2/0
III: Return any number of VP chips to the pot for +2 military this phase per chit discarded.


I like this one at lot more. I'd still want to see a cap on it (maybe max discard to 3, for a temporary +6 or so?), but it's definitely interesting. It makes a hybrid weak military, weak production strategy solid in the face one opponent who is going heavy production, and another going heavy military.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maël Brustlein
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scwont wrote:
1. Although there's a bigger deck size to contend with, there's also more overlap between the 6-cost developments. Finding the *perfect* one may not always be possible, but finding a decent one usually is.

As far as I'm concerned, I tend to think that if there is only one "perfect" 6-cost development in most of your RFTG games, you're doing something wrong. It's not necessarily a good idea to throw yourself into a very specific strategy and then try to find THE development.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Prophet World
non-military world
IV: may discard 1 card to view the cards used as goods of up to 3 goods on your tableau

Industrial Replicators
6cost/5VP
non-military world
V: produce novelty good on a windfall blue world[/COLOR]; [BGCOLOR=brown]produce rare good on a windfall brown world

Pacifist Nation
0def/4VP (if you have negative military, you will NOT be able to settle this world)
military world
III: -1 military; -1 rebel military

Nudist Colony
4cost/2VP
non-military world
IV: 1 VP; may discard a card to earn 1 VP, may NOT be doubled; consume one good here for 1 VP; May use any or all of the consume powers of this card -OR- consume powers of other cards on your tableau, but NOT BOTH in a given round.

Antimatter Testing Facility
5cost/2VP
development
III: Declare a non-military world on a player's tableau. Then discard this card to remove that non-military costing up to 2 from that player's tableau. If the non-military world costs more than 2, player must discard 1 card for each additional cost of that world.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Austin
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
Prophet World
non-military world
IV: may discard 1 card to view the cards used as goods of up to 3 goods on your tableau


I dunno about this one. It just doesn't seem useful (sack a card to gain some intel but nothing more) and it violates the uncertainty principle that I tend to feel is rather sacrosanct to RftG...

Quote:
Industrial Replicators
6cost/5VP
non-military world
V: produce novelty good on a windfall blue world[/COLOR]; [BGCOLOR=brown]produce rare good on a windfall brown world


I don't really feel I can comment much on this one. Not that it is a bad idea, just not sure on the balance. Six is really steep for what it does--granted it is worth 5 VPs.

Quote:
Pacifist Nation
0def/4VP (if you have negative military, you will NOT be able to settle this world)
military world
III: -1 military; -1 rebel military


I don't like the balance on this one. A military-free tableau can just drop this for 4 VPs, no questions asked.

Just a thought...what if it required negative military to be played in the first place?

Quote:

Nudist Colony
4cost/2VP
non-military world
IV: 1 VP; may discard a card to earn 1 VP, may NOT be doubled; consume one good here for 1 VP; May use any or all of the consume powers of this card -OR- consume powers of other cards on your tableau, but NOT BOTH in a given round.


I'm not sure I'm reading this right. Why does it mention '1 VP' right at the beginning. Does it have the Salon power in addition to the rest?? If so, that is clearly too much. I feel like it should probably have something else going for it beyond a consume power if it costs 4 cards to play.

Oh, and I think if this were to make it into an 'official' expansion the card theme would have to be scrubbed

Quote:
Antimatter Testing Facility
5cost/2VP
development
III: Declare a non-military world on a player's tableau. Then discard this card to remove that non-military costing up to 2 from that player's tableau. If the non-military world costs more than 2, player must discard 1 card for each additional cost of that world.


This one sounds pretty ugly. With takeovers everyone now has to stomach what we previously hadn't seen--players mettling in each others' tableaus. Thing is takeovers (granted, haven't seen many) are done in a pretty tightly controlled fashion and military strategies go for points from tableau as opposed to particularly complex mechanics. The problem I see with this card is the broad number of targets available to it and the nature of those targets. This played appropriately could wreck a lynch pin card for someone's produce/consume strategy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.