Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Small World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another Halfling question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I have halflings on the board, and I pick them all up to re-enter, I know that I lose my holes-in-the-ground permanently. But can I still re-enter the board from any location, or do I now have to enter from the borders like everyone else?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian G.
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe you can still enter anywhere
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Tidwell
United States
Durango
COLORADO
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems like you'd be able to use that power.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why would you give up two immune spaces to re-enter the board?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Cooper
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
From the rules:

Quote:
Halflings
Your Halfling tokens may enter the map
through any Region of the map, not just
border ones. Place a Hole-in-the-Ground in
each of the first 2 Regions you conquer, to
make them immune to enemy conquests as well as racial and
special powers. You remove your Holes-in-the-Ground (and lose
the protection they confer in these Regions) when your Halflings
go into Decline, or if you choose to abandon a Region containing
a Hole-in-the-Ground.


So re-entering I would say for sure you can come in through any region.

byronczimmer wrote:
Why would you give up two immune spaces to re-enter the board?


I agree with the OPs assessment, you would lose the holes. They go on the first two regions that you conquer and according to the rules if you go into decline or choose to abandon a region containing the hole you lose it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Smiles
United States
Dedham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
admin
The ratio of people to cake is too big.
badge
Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
Why would you give up two immune spaces to re-enter the board?


Shouldn't happen often, but there are certainly reasons to do so. Off the top of my head, being walled off by a diplomat. You take your 3 points or pick up and start over somewhere else.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
asmiles wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
Why would you give up two immune spaces to re-enter the board?


Shouldn't happen often, but there are certainly reasons to do so. Off the top of my head, being walled off by a diplomat. You take your 3 points or pick up and start over somewhere else.


It would take 6-9 tokens (barring secondary power) to recover those 3 points, let alone best them.

If you're walled in by a Diplomat - probably better to just decline.

Overall it's an interesting thought exercise, but the point of coming in anywhere should be to create a defensive position and erect a 'great wall of halfling holes' through which no-one can attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Smiles
United States
Dedham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
admin
The ratio of people to cake is too big.
badge
Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
asmiles wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
Why would you give up two immune spaces to re-enter the board?


Shouldn't happen often, but there are certainly reasons to do so. Off the top of my head, being walled off by a diplomat. You take your 3 points or pick up and start over somewhere else.


It would take 6-9 tokens (barring secondary power) to recover those 3 points, let alone best them.

If you're walled in by a Diplomat - probably better to just decline.

Overall it's an interesting thought exercise, but the point of coming in anywhere should be to create a defensive position and erect a 'great wall of halfling holes' through which no-one can attack.


Like I said, it shouldn't happen often. But there are situations where it is better the doing nothing.

You are not going to decline if you've still got a large number of in decline regions on the board.

And more likely than being completely walled off by a diplomat, is that your acitve halflings are creating a wall between your declined race and potential attackers, when a diplomat leaves you with the only option as attacking yourself.

And yes if you've got 9-10 halfling tokens and you can get 2-3 empty regions, plus more room to expand later, then picking up and starting over is better then simply sitting on 2-3 points and keeping your halfling holes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.