Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Duration rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ricardo Foureaux
Brazil
flag msg tools
If a card says "+8 to combat checks, discard after use" and the investigator is in a street with three monsters, this bonus works at 3 combats, or just in the first of them? And spells, at the same situation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you're talking Dynamite here. It's a one-shot item, +8 for one check, discarded afterwards. So could roll poorly and still need another round of combat against the first monster, would need to find another weapon(s).

Spells last until the end of combat against the monster they are cast against, or until you stop allocating the hand(s) required by the spell.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zeb Ulon

Oxford
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kevin Wilson made a very good summary in the Official Answer Thread at FFG forums (http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?e...):

How long do Combat bonuses last? (12/09/06)
Type 1: (Standard Weapons) "+X to Combat checks"
Examples: .38 Revolver, Shotgun, Axe.
These bonuses last as long as you devote the required hands to them. You can use them for multiple rounds of combat, and in multiple battles each turn.

Type 2: (One Shot) "+X to Combat checks (discard after use)"
Examples: Dynamite, Molotov Cocktail.
The wording on this type is somewhat archaic, but the idea is that you only use it for 1 combat check, and then you discard it.

Type 3: (Burst) "Exhaust before making a Combat check to gain +X to that check."
Examples: Flamethrower, Carbine Rifle.
This type is used for only a single combat check, and it is then exhausted and cannot be used again until refreshed.

Type 4: (Spells) "Cast and exhaust to gain +X to Combat checks until the end of this combat."
Examples: Wither, Shrivelling.
A spell that gives a combat bonus like this will last until the end of the combat (i.e. for multiple combat rounds until the combat is over) once you cast it. HOWEVER, you must still devote the proper number of hands to keeping the spell going, or it will end. In any case, the spell is exhausted after casting, so it can only be used to fight one monster each turn. Also note that in a battle vs. the Ancient One, you will need to recast the spell each attack, since it gets refreshed and ends between attacks.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricardo Foureaux
Brazil
flag msg tools
Thank You

You both help me a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.